Full bricked wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by The Composer, Sep 3, 2011.

Sep 3, 2011

Full bricked wii by The Composer at 12:47 AM (1,534 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. The Composer
    OP

    Member The Composer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    Here's the rundown:

    My friend who is a noob at wii hacking tried to mod a 4.3 black wii. He did the regular steps: letterbomb, hbc, install stuff and shit.

    The problem is that he fucked somehow in the process and now he has a fullbricked wii.

    The console turns on but shows nothing on the screen.

    Here's what we have:

    -HBC and bootmii installed, but only as boot1.
    -Priiloader installed.


    No backups were made, meaning that we have no backups of the NAND. I tried to unbrick it with a gamecube controller. Put it on the 4th slot and opened the controller so I could mash the d-pad but didnt work either.

    Sorry there's not much info here, but I wasnt there at the moment my friend tried to mod his Wii.


    Any help?
     


  2. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    You said bootmii "as boot1". Did you mean boot2 or IOS? Boot2 is the rare one.
     
  3. The Composer
    OP

    Member The Composer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    What I wanted to say is that bootmii wasnt installed as boot2, only boot1 (IOS)
     
  4. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    if ur not sure if bootmii was installed as boot2, save the bootmii folder to an sd card (grab it from ModMii's download page 2 "BSD"), save it to an SD card and insert it in your Wii and power it up. If bootmii was installed as boot2, it will load the bootmii menu right away
     
  5. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It can't be installed as boot1, lol. There is no such thing. It must be bootmii as IOS.

    What step was your friend on when he noticed the brick, and what guide was he following? No decent guide would let you continue without a NAND backup.

    Also, can you access Priiloader?
     
  6. The Composer
    OP

    Member The Composer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    I was sure that bootmii wasnt installed as boot2, because his wii was new.

    At any rate I downloaded ModMii and did every step you suggested.

    Nothing happened, further confirming that boot2 is not installed.
     
  7. The Composer
    OP

    Member The Composer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    He didnt make a backup because his SD card was like 256mb and didnt have enough space xd.

    As for the bootmii, then yes, I meant bootmii as IOS.
     
  8. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    NAND backups are REQUIRED! Your friend should have gotten a bigger SD card.

    Anyway, please answer my other questions.
     
  9. The Composer
    OP

    Member The Composer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    I did.
     
  10. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    You didn't.
     
  11. The Composer
    OP

    Member The Composer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    Oh Sorry:


    What step was your friend on when he noticed the brick, and what guide was he following? No decent guide would let you continue without a NAND backup.


    This one: http://gbatemp.net/t171901-modify-any-wii-4-3-below

    Also, can you access Priiloader?

    No. If the way to access Priiloader is pressing reset when you turn on the Wii, then no.
     
  12. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It's holding reset. Power on your Wii and hold RESET for several seconds. You still haven't told me the step.

    I really don't like that guide, and not just because they suggest you update to 4.2.
     
  13. The Composer
    OP

    Member The Composer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    Apparently he did some steps that werent on the guide, like installing the iOS 70.

    He says that after installing the iOS 70 apart from the guide, the Wiimote froze up and the reset the Wii, thus bricking the console.

    Well, Priiloader and bootmii arent weorking and we dont have any backups.

    Btw thanks for your support, very appreciated.
     
  14. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Crap. Your friend probably installed a stubbed IOS80, or a real IOS80 on a Korean Wii. Did your friend buy this from a retail store of somewhere else?
     
  15. The Composer
    OP

    Member The Composer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    Retail. Brand new. It's the bundle that comes with Mario Kart and Wii Wheel.
     
  16. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so it's not a Korean Wii (although I guess that wouldn't give a black screen).

    Since your friend decided to skip the required NAND backup, there is no way to recover from this brick. He will either have to try returning it (unlikely that they will take it) or sell it for parts.

    I'm sorry I couldn't be of more help, but your friend should have followed the instructions.
     
  17. The Composer
    OP

    Member The Composer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    Yeah I know its hard.

    I will try to look for any solution, but at this rate, with no backups and black scree, he is fcked up.
     
  18. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    There is one last possibility. When your friend turns on his Wii, can he hear anything?
     
  19. The Composer
    OP

    Member The Composer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    Well the Wii turns on and the disc drive makes the sound as if searching for a disc, the normal sound it's supposed to make.

    We put a Wii game (SSBB) and tried to use the gamecube controller unbrick method. When the game was inside, I turned off the Wii and turned on and it made the regular sounds of a disc inside.
     
  20. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    But do you hear things like the background music? Can you connect the remote?
     

Share This Page