Full Brick; BootMii as boot2; no nand or access to hbc

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Ephizel, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. Ephizel
    OP

    Newcomer Ephizel Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    As stated in the topic, I turned on my system a few days ago to be faced with a full brick. I can get into bootmii but I don't have a nand backup, and the homebrew channel won't come up either.

    Could anyone please walk me through fixing this, if possible? Thank you!
     


  2. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    put any boot.dol (hackmii installer / wadmanager)
    at the root of your sd card and start it through Bootmii
     
  3. daxtsu

    Member daxtsu -

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,289
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Bootmii doesn't run LiboGC homebrew.
     
  4. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Cboot2 and wadmanager or dop-ios with GC support and try reinstalling the system menu and not forgetting the system menu IOS before system menu
     
  5. Ephizel
    OP

    Newcomer Ephizel Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Not to be a bother, but is there a recommended guide for either of these? I've tried cboot2 from a few sources without success, and I'm not sure how to go about using dop-ios.

    How should I get wadmanager running? Basically cboot2 isn't booting into wadmanager or displaying anything at all.

    Any help in getting either of these working would be greatly appreciated.
     
  6. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    well what did you do to make it come up in a brick? wiis don't just do that by themelves.

    you can always use the nand formatter to fix it, but i doubt youll need to go that far.
     
  7. Unfortune

    Member Unfortune GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Country:
    Pakistan

    Oh noess... What's the point of BootMii if your not gonna keep a NAND backup?
     
  8. Shonk

    Newcomer Shonk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    Take a backup of the nand now before messing with anything
    just incase you make it worse
     
  9. Ephizel
    OP

    Newcomer Ephizel Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I've taken a backup since the incident for reasons Shonk mentioned, but yeah, not having one before was stupid on my part. I didn't have an SD card when I installed bootmii that I was willing to use for it yet.

    As far as how it bricked, I honestly don't know. The last thing I did on it was replay No More Heroes in preparation for the sequel. When I started up my Wii the next day: bricked. I don't know what caused it.

    Sorry for having such a troublesome case.
     
  10. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Given your explanation, if correct, it could be a hardware failure such as the bluetooth module - do the wiimotes work?
     
  11. Ephizel
    OP

    Newcomer Ephizel Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I can turn on the console with the remote without a problem. That's it, of course.

    EDIT: Opted to run the nand formatter, which didn't complete. However, I was able to run cboot2 afterwards, but it returned an error (Failed to load IOS).
    I'll have to resume working on this tomorrow.
     
  12. gamecat

    Newcomer gamecat Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not that this helps much but i had a similar problem last year getting the 'failed to load ios' error when running cboot2.

    The working nand backup i had did not restore it, and a guy on here made me a nand backup using my keys which didnt restore it either.

    In the end i had to bite the bullet and send to nintendo. Luckily they fixed it for free (im in the uk though)
     
  13. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I think cBoot2 requires IOS36 installed on nand. Doesn't the nand formatter allow to install some wads along with the system menu?
     
  14. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    If you make a NAND backup, how many badblocks etc. do you get and what kind of wii do you have? If you find one that matches yours, it should work to switch keys on that NAND backup.
     
  15. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Does it? [​IMG]

    I always thought it depends on the application you run from it. So if __IOS_LoadStartupIOS is nulled it will work without IOS36, if not, it will automatically reload to IOS36.
     
  16. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    nope cboot2 run IOS36 from SD card

    Anyway the simpliest way to unbrick with bootmii as boot2 without NAND dump / HBC is: resign a bootmii dump with betwiin and start injecting (of course u'll find a "donor", compatible, whos doesn't give a shit about sharing mii's codes, / legit buy VC/WW (anyway after fixing should format your wii, to avoid using same ID twice)

    EDIT: i can give some NAND dump for the Betwiin conversion

    - boot1b, boot2v3, 4.1E
    - boot1b, boot2v4, 4.2E (same wii but different system) those dump have only one bad block, at 3414
     
  17. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    when you ran the nand formatter, what wads did you have on the sd card (in sd:/wad/) ? and if you didnt edit the source code to the formatter, you will now have the same serial number (LU104170609) as the 100s of other people that have used it.
     
  18. Ephizel
    OP

    Newcomer Ephizel Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    It's a launch Wii with 3 bad blocks.

    Wads were a 3.1u sysmen, IOS30, EULA and the region select. It only installed two of those before saying Done and rebooting. I left the formatter as it was.

    How likely is it for a NAND transplant to work? And thanks again for all the help, everyone!
     
  19. Ephizel
    OP

    Newcomer Ephizel Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Do the wads need to be named in any special way?
     
  20. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    It's better to use IOS wads taken from a disc rather than NUS downloader, and also you probably don't want to use sysmenu 3.1u - I've heard it's too big and crashes the program, due to it only using MEM1 for temp storage.
     

Share This Page