Friend has a problem.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Nujui, Oct 5, 2011.

Oct 5, 2011

Friend has a problem. by Nujui at 11:58 PM (523 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Nujui
    OP

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    My friend is trying to play No More Heroes 2 NTSC on his PAL wii. Now, it doesn't want to boot when he has "Force PAL" on, though if he has "Force NTSC" on, it lets him through the intro screen, and then says his tv mode is not supported.

    Help?

    EDIT: His TV is pal btw.

    EDIT2: He also sees a system update when he puts in Super Mario Galaxy 2, though he's on 4.3.
     
  2. chaosdarkneo

    Member chaosdarkneo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Country:
    United States
    Is this a retail disk played on a region-free Wii or a backup?

    Did you enable Region-Free in the SysMenu Hacks of Priiloader? I find that helps.
     
  3. Nujui
    OP

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Backup, and he did do as you said and still has the same problem.
     
  4. chaosdarkneo

    Member chaosdarkneo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Country:
    United States
    His Wii is PAL, right?

    Is he playing this in Europe on a PAL TV? Some older TVs don't support NTSC signals. Try enabling Force PAL again, but use a different loader, like CFG USB Loader.
     
  5. Nujui
    OP

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    His LCD TV is a Pal.

    And he has also tried using different loaders as well.
     
  6. chaosdarkneo

    Member chaosdarkneo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, the only thing I can think of is that the video output cables aren't working right. Try replacing them or using a different TV?
     
  7. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    just download the PAL version of the game.......................
     
  8. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,127
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    The system update can be stopped with the priiloader hacks. "Never check for system updates" and "never show DVD updates" or something (the names speak for themselves).


    For the main question, I'm going to go with chaosdarkneo. Assuming your friend used the latest cIOS and loaders, and forced the settings correctly, it should play. So since it doesn't, it's probably one of the older PAL tv's that can't display NTSC.

    I'd ask "can he play other NTSC games?", but that isn't proving much. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page