Forums more "spaced out"?

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by SifJar, Feb 14, 2012.

Feb 14, 2012

Forums more "spaced out"? by SifJar at 8:25 PM (685 Views / 1 Likes) 13 replies

  1. SifJar
    OP

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've noticed that the gap between thread titles (or rather, the gap "around" thread titles) has suddenly grown. Is there any way to put it back or is this some sort of bug?

    Here's what I mean:

    [​IMG]
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have been thinking EXACTLY the same thing. mentioned it on IRC and no one seemed to realise / could be bothered to check.
    At least it's not just me.

    Must be something to do with the website as it's the same in every browser and I haven't changed anything since yesterday, at which point it was 'normal'.
     
  3. SifJar
    OP

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've been trying to fiddle with the CSS of the page, but I can't find a way to change it. Using the Chrome extension "StyleBot", I applied the following CSS:


    Code:
    tr.__topic {
    height: 10px;
    }
    
    And it made no difference, when it should have made them about 1/5 as tall. It's a little annoying that I can't fix this.
     
  4. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,806
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    It is because GBAtemp still uses tables for most layout which is a bit weird since IP Board 3 as well as all other modern forum software are written tableless. Tables can't be modified so easily via CSS.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well to be fair tables are still good for tabular data, and forum lists are tabular data. Yes site layouts shou;dn't be using tables, but that doesn't mean that tables should be totally removed from web pages, they still have their uses.

    Anyways there's also padding and other things to take into account when determining cell size for tables, so try changing some of those to see which is at fault.
     
  6. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    When the change of table size happened, GBATemp stopped loading for five minutes on my end. And ever since, it's had occasional inability to load.
     
  7. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I havn't changed anything though. :S It just suddenly stopped working this morning.
     
  8. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,806
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    In my opinion tables should not be used for a forum layout. The big disadvantage of this was always that anyone can deform the layout by posting for instance big images or long text paragraphs without spaces. You don't have this with a tableless layout.
     
  9. SifJar
    OP

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, I got it to look fairly normal with this CSS:


    Code:
    tr.__topic {
    padding-top: 0;
    padding-bottom: 0;
    padding-left: 0;
    padding: 0;
    padding-right: 0;
    height: 20px;
    border-width: 0;
    border-top-width: 0;
    border-right-width: 0;
    border-bottom-width: 0;
    border-left-width: 0;
    }
    Tested with StyleBot for Chrome, should work with Stylish for Chrome/Firefox I think as well.

    EDIT: Chances are most of those padding and border settings are completely irrelevant, but I couldn't be bothered testing to see which is the actual problem, and this way it works. Border is probably completely irrelevant, as are most likely right and left padding.
     
  10. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    It's back to normal!
    but thanks for sharing the code if it stayed spaced out.
     
  11. SifJar
    OP

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Now that is back to normal, I can see that the height should be 39px, not 20px as I posted.
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I meant sifjar.

    I don't get the advantage over divs in the case of tabular data. I was only speaking thread lists, but even inside threads you won't have empty cells, and you can stretch a DIV out as well... assuming that the div doesn't have a max size set on it. Which you can also do in tables.
     
  13. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,806
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    What I meant was this:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Another advantage is that a tableless layout is much easier to customize for administrators and its code is more readable, at least for me (I really hate working with tables).
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That'll stretch a div without appropriate "protections" as well AFAIK...
     

Share This Page