Forums more "spaced out"?

SifJar

Not a pirate
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,175
Country
I've noticed that the gap between thread titles (or rather, the gap "around" thread titles) has suddenly grown. Is there any way to put it back or is this some sort of bug?

Here's what I mean:

6fHkw.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Wizerzak

Because I'm a potato!
Member
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
2,784
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
United Kingdom
XP
883
Country
I have been thinking EXACTLY the same thing. mentioned it on IRC and no one seemed to realise / could be bothered to check.
At least it's not just me.

Must be something to do with the website as it's the same in every browser and I haven't changed anything since yesterday, at which point it was 'normal'.
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,175
Country
I've been trying to fiddle with the CSS of the page, but I can't find a way to change it. Using the Chrome extension "StyleBot", I applied the following CSS:


Code:
tr.__topic {
height: 10px;
}

And it made no difference, when it should have made them about 1/5 as tall. It's a little annoying that I can't fix this.
 

WiiUBricker

News Police
Banned
Joined
Sep 19, 2009
Messages
7,827
Trophies
0
Location
Espresso
XP
7,520
Country
Argentina
It is because GBAtemp still uses tables for most layout which is a bit weird since IP Board 3 as well as all other modern forum software are written tableless. Tables can't be modified so easily via CSS.
 

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
9,111
Country
United States
Well to be fair tables are still good for tabular data, and forum lists are tabular data. Yes site layouts shou;dn't be using tables, but that doesn't mean that tables should be totally removed from web pages, they still have their uses.

Anyways there's also padding and other things to take into account when determining cell size for tables, so try changing some of those to see which is at fault.
 

Wizerzak

Because I'm a potato!
Member
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
2,784
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
United Kingdom
XP
883
Country
Well to be fair tables are still good for tabular data, and forum lists are tabular data. Yes site layouts shou;dn't be using tables, but that doesn't mean that tables should be totally removed from web pages, they still have their uses.

Anyways there's also padding and other things to take into account when determining cell size for tables, so try changing some of those to see which is at fault.

I havn't changed anything though. :S It just suddenly stopped working this morning.
 

WiiUBricker

News Police
Banned
Joined
Sep 19, 2009
Messages
7,827
Trophies
0
Location
Espresso
XP
7,520
Country
Argentina
Well to be fair tables are still good for tabular data, and forum lists are tabular data. Yes site layouts shou;dn't be using tables, but that doesn't mean that tables should be totally removed from web pages, they still have their uses.

In my opinion tables should not be used for a forum layout. The big disadvantage of this was always that anyone can deform the layout by posting for instance big images or long text paragraphs without spaces. You don't have this with a tableless layout.
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,175
Country
OK, I got it to look fairly normal with this CSS:


Code:
tr.__topic {
padding-top: 0;
padding-bottom: 0;
padding-left: 0;
padding: 0;
padding-right: 0;
height: 20px;
border-width: 0;
border-top-width: 0;
border-right-width: 0;
border-bottom-width: 0;
border-left-width: 0;
}

Tested with StyleBot for Chrome, should work with Stylish for Chrome/Firefox I think as well.

EDIT: Chances are most of those padding and border settings are completely irrelevant, but I couldn't be bothered testing to see which is the actual problem, and this way it works. Border is probably completely irrelevant, as are most likely right and left padding.
 

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
9,111
Country
United States
I havn't changed anything though. :S It just suddenly stopped working this morning.
I meant sifjar.

In my opinion tables should not be used for a forum layout. The big disadvantage of this was always that anyone can deform the layout by posting for instance big images or long text paragraphs without spaces. You don't have this with a tableless layout.
I don't get the advantage over divs in the case of tabular data. I was only speaking thread lists, but even inside threads you won't have empty cells, and you can stretch a DIV out as well... assuming that the div doesn't have a max size set on it. Which you can also do in tables.
 

WiiUBricker

News Police
Banned
Joined
Sep 19, 2009
Messages
7,827
Trophies
0
Location
Espresso
XP
7,520
Country
Argentina
What I meant was this:

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Another advantage is that a tableless layout is much easier to customize for administrators and its code is more readable, at least for me (I really hate working with tables).
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Very very very very broadly speaking.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But no.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    emulation isn't telling the silicon to perform a specific way, it's just translating the commands into something the cpu can understand
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    fpga runs them natively
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and i assume there is a level of verification that is not possible with emulation since you can actually probe the pins to verify that it behaves the exact same as real hardware
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    so it's easier to get it 1:1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    there aren't even virtual pins with emulation that you could "probe", it doesn't go that deep
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    So fpga PS2 when? Hehehe
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    fpga PS1 isn't even out yet
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Just saw an article about Anbernic rg40xxh as a "cheaper alternative to RG Cube". I love it when they do that.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Etch-A-Sketch, cheaper alternative to the iPad"
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i guess they were thinking in emulation capabilities
  • Veho @ Veho:
    In emulation capabilities one can run Gamecube and the other can barely run n64.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    One is Android 13 and the other is Baked Beans OS 0.6 (I'm not even kidding)
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    PC ftw lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    May I suggest a pocket calculator as a cheaper alternative?
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Veho you may be right, all in my PC is probably 1800 dollars and that's using refurbished and mid range parts lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Although some stats are pretty cool 38TBs of storage not counting external drives
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    People ask why so much.... ROM sets for even PS2 just eat up that much
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Why so much? Because we have it in our minds we need the latest and greatest when pc performance peaked at a consumer level
  • HUNTERFOX @ HUNTERFOX:
    Just finished getting the rest of the emulators on my 3ds. Now I have. gb/gba/sn64/snes/nes
    +2
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://spectrum.ieee.org/rollable-smartphone