Forum sigs here are insane, in the bad way

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by mole_incarnate, Dec 23, 2002.

Dec 23, 2002
  1. mole_incarnate
    OP

    Former Staff mole_incarnate Watermelon!

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,596
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Perth,WA
    Country:
    Australia
    Although most (nearly all) of the sig pictures people use here, although nice, are WAY to big. A simple topic of 8 or so posts can become a slow downloading waste of time.

    What i recommend - Kivan i recommend that you limit the sig size. The norm is about 200x50 pixels although maybe thats too small for you guys.

    [example]
     


  2. D2_

    Former Staff D2_ Weee!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,799
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    wat are u on a 28kb modem? it merely takes a min. to load up a page for me and i have a 56k.
     
  3. G.O.D

    Member G.O.D GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    955
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    dude the biggest topics only take like 15 secs to load
     
  4. mole_incarnate
    OP

    Former Staff mole_incarnate Watermelon!

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,596
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Perth,WA
    Country:
    Australia
    ooookay, seeing as you guys have no experience in these matters -

    Yes im on a 56k modem
    Yes 15 seconds IS too long
    You have to think about people with slower connections FIRST
     
  5. D2_

    Former Staff D2_ Weee!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,799
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    so am i? wats ur point? its like saying those instant minute noodles take too long to make.
     
  6. RadioDog

    Newcomer RadioDog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I find a lot of these sig pics are really disgusting and add significantly to page loading times. I vote for a standard size, like 200x50px or maybe 460x60 like a typical banner ad.

    mole_incarnate is right, you're only as fast as your slowest user...
     
  7. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    nah i don't want a standard sig size, just leave it how it is, it doesn't take that long to load! unless your really impatient. Hey D2 your sig and avitar isn't working, i suggest you get it hosted at www.netfirms.com
     
  8. Dranzer

    Member Dranzer Rom-Source Admin/Rep

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    736
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    There is nothing wrong with the current sizes of the sigs or avatars. Its not our fault that you are stuck on 56K. and I was on 56K just 3 days ago took me only a matter of seconds to load D2's thread about making sig's. In other words. Talk to your ISP for your slow problems, No one else here I believe has any problems with speed.

    Edit: And BTW if they are to big than most or all of us ask the other person to trim it down, we dont go demanding. That is not the way of GBAtemp and its members
     
  9. Tempest Stormwin

    Former Staff Tempest Stormwin Kweisatz Haderach

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,834
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    On temporary hiatus.
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, there was that one case... but he had a 1024x768 sig of the DoA girls in volleyball swimsuits as his sig... and replied three times on that one thread... [​IMG]

    Anyway, since most of us use one of D2, TJ, or CSPlaya's sigs, and all of those fit standardized if unusual sizes, and none of them are enormous, I think that it's only those few oddballs who need to hear this complaint. To my knowledge there's only one guy on as of this writing with a huge sig (won't mention the name, but it's an 800x600 screenshot from Splinter Cell), and I bet by tomorrow this time it'll be gone.

    -Tempest out.-
     
  10. EvilMegaManX

    Member EvilMegaManX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    263
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    About to kick someone inbetween their ball sack an
    Country:
    Japan
    ok ok i will put a small pic ok sorry
     
  11. EvilMegaManX

    Member EvilMegaManX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    263
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    About to kick someone inbetween their ball sack an
    Country:
    Japan
    so sue me if i like this pic so i will put it small [​IMG]
     
  12. Tempest Stormwin

    Former Staff Tempest Stormwin Kweisatz Haderach

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,834
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    On temporary hiatus.
    Country:
    Canada
    Please don't double-post. There's an edit button for a reason.

    And I only used yours as an example of a large sig! I never bashed it. In that other thread all I said was that I'm not into Splinter Cell. I never used that as a reason for you to drop it.

    Sorry if you took my earlier post personally.

    -Tempest out.-
     
  13. mole_incarnate
    OP

    Former Staff mole_incarnate Watermelon!

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,596
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Perth,WA
    Country:
    Australia
    Hmm maybe im just sensitive because im a web designer..... although maybe a filesize limiter? At least make a limiter so that those few who abuse cant do so....
     
  14. Klonoa

    Klonoa Newbie

    If you don't like them then use Ad Shield to get rid of them.
     
  15. SS_Shagen

    SS_Shagen Newbie

    I second that!
     
  16. demu

    Member demu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Croatia
    Country:
    Croatia
    I'm on 56k also and I don't mind it since it has to load only once beacuse of cache. It won't kill you to wait once a little longer.

    And to add that you can turn off sigs and avatars in your control panel.

    Your Control Panel > Board Settings:

    Do you wish to view members signatures when reading threads?

    Do you wish to view images in posts, such as smilies and posted images?

    Do you wish to view members avatars when reading threads?
     
  17. KiVan

    Former Staff KiVan Hooray! Member n# 1!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    2,256
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    i personally edit all the sign i judge too big, signatures like d2 or tempest are not annoying.

    If you want the forum to run faster go into your personal control panel and check the option to hide signatures or avatars [​IMG]
     
  18. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,806
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I suppose it can be slow for people with old 56k. Get adsl [​IMG] [​IMG] but like KiVan said, if you dont like it, just turn off signatures in your control panel, and they wont be shown.
     
  19. T-hug

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,513
    Featured Posts:
    5
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    *grins*
     
  20. dice

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,541
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is mine the right size [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...