1. fatmonkeybutt

    OP fatmonkeybutt Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I formatted g6lite, and now i can upgrade it.. any one with experience can help me plz.

    when i loaded up the firmware, when i press upgrade, it just freeze
     
  2. Lily

    Lily One Scary Lady
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,727
    Country:
    Canada
    When the "green text" screen comes up (you're loading in GBA mode, right?) you need to press "A", "B", "Select" & "Start" at the same time.

    Does it freeze after doing that?

    It should ask you "Yes/No" to upgrade. If you choose yes, it gives you a running status of the progress.

    You may need to recreate the original folder structure as well - the update may very well be looking for something that you erased.
     
  3. fatmonkeybutt

    OP fatmonkeybutt Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    it froze after i choose yes to upgrade... plz give me more infomation bout the folder structure. as i said i formateed. i lost all those infomation.
     
  4. Killermech

    Killermech Cookie Monster
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    You prob forgot to run the 'Maintenance utility' right after you formated.

    Taken from the txt file:


     
  5. Lily

    Lily One Scary Lady
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,727
    Country:
    Canada
    Edit: Beaten to the punch. [​IMG]
     
  6. lenselijer

    lenselijer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,516
    Country:
    Netherlands
    dont format as fat32 or you cant update, just use normal FAT [​IMG]
     
  7. Homer000

    Homer000 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    I dont know if the error is on the user end... I tried to flash my g6 to the new firmware, I got a white screen, and no x/30...
    Did all the tricks in the book, (format fat 16 first, then use the low format utility...) If i get a progress, it nevers goes beyond 3/30, then the screen flash white. Now my gba section don't work and i can't even flash an older firmware on it. I tried flashing it with both my ds and Gba.

    It think the problem resides in the flash rom for the g6 system. This thing don't get formated when you do a low format and you cant push an upgrade vie the usb loader, nor do you have an utility to revert the cart to factory setting...

    I sent an e-mail tuesday (Still waiting for a response...) to g6 team, i'll wait and see what they have to say...
     
  8. Adrian DX

    Adrian DX Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Norway
    That made me laugh [​IMG]

    (sorry for the off-topic [​IMG] )
     
  9. fatmonkeybutt

    OP fatmonkeybutt Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    thx for replys but i got this fixed already.. thx for all the replys but now i have a question about currupted files in g6 lite... anyone experience this before??? i got some files showing 4 gb size in my computer.. cant access those files tho.
     
  10. crukid

    crukid Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Argentina
    let me know if you get any resolution on this, my G6 lite is doing the exact same thing and I am hella bummed.
     
  11. evilreddot

    evilreddot GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Canada
    When I click on the maintenance thing it says "Can't create directory" and I don't have a Fat16 format option, just Fat and Fat32. I've tried it with Fat and did the maintenance, but when I try to access it, I get pop up that says that the drive is not formatted and that I'll have to format it again. I'm trying the Fat32 now.

    Edit: I tried formatting with both Fat and Fat32 twice and using the utility everytime, without changing any settings. I still get the pop up that says that the cart isn't formatted and must be formatted to be accessed, when I try to access it.
     
  12. RyuKakashi

    RyuKakashi GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    FAT = FAT16

    it's just not named that way.

    use my computer, right click the g6 removable drive, format fat that way.
    then you can just put in the firmware or whatever and install in gba mode.
     
  13. tama_mog

    tama_mog Kupo
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States

    After you format with the mptutil, it will not recognize the cart right away as a valid format. you will need to safely remove the device through windows, take out the burner and put it back in. Then you will have a clean slate.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Formatted,