formatted 4.2 wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by muffin, Dec 16, 2009.

Dec 16, 2009

formatted 4.2 wii by muffin at 2:44 PM (2,181 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi i have had to format the wii memory as having lots of problems after updating offical can someone please advice on how to get the homebrew channel etc back on , after i done the format it stayed at 4.2 instead of going back to 3.1 will this be ok to carry on putting everything back on i have tried trucha bug restorer and anytitle deleter still no luck i am going crazy but still no homebrew channel any help please [​IMG]
    thankyou
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    There's a simplistic mod guide in the stickies.
     
  3. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    how r u trying trucha bug restorer and anytitle deleter w/out first having homebrew. Obviously I know its possible... but put homebrew back on first!

    check out xzxero's stickied guide, how to mod any wii 4.2 and below... follow the steps, if u have problems with following an actual guide then ask a Q.
     
  4. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    many thanks for your replys i have tried the guide that you have advised and it will not even load up on the wii from the sd card i have tried so many guides ad none seem to work at the moment i have had some luck with getting homebrew installer to load but it says that it cannot go on this wii someting to do with iso files , i was advised but not here to put on iso 250 or iso36 and nothing happened then i was advised to format the wii to try and get trucha bug restorer and anytitle deleter to work no luck , the problem is that homebrew will not load up on the wii why i dont know , the wii was 3.1 and made the mistake of updating offical to 4.2 and now nothing will load all i have got on the system is the wii channels nothing else , if i try and put homebrew on i get this from the log file


    HackMii v0.6 installer starting up
    PVR = 00087200
    running under IOS 36 rev 0xd17
    58 titles are installed
    Found IOS 254: revision: 0x104.
    Found IOS 223: revision: 0xff00.
    Found IOS 222: revision: 0xff00.
    Found IOS 61: revision: 0x151d.
    Found IOS 57: revision: 0x161d.
    Found IOS 51: revision: 0x1300.
    Found IOS 16: revision: 0x200.
    Found IOS 10: revision: 0x300.
    Found IOS 0: revision: 0x0*
    Found IOS 70: revision: 0x1a1f*
    Found IOS 52: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 46: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 45: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 43: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 41: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 40: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 201: revision: 0xc16*
    Found IOS 60: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 56: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 55: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 53: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 50: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 38: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 37: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 250: revision: 0xff00.
    Found IOS 249: revision: 0xff00.
    Found IOS 36: revision: 0xd17.
    Found IOS 35: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 34: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 33: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 31: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 30: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 28: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 22: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 20: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 17: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 15: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 14: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 13: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 12: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 11: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 21: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 2: revision: 0x1e2.
    Found IOS 9: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 4: revision: 0xff00.
    IOS versions: Installer: 0, HBC: 61, DVDX: 36
    got no usable IOS for the installer
    starting preparationspreparations done!

    thankyou
     
  5. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    You have cIOSCORP installed. Not a surprise it won't install. Run Wad Manager with Bannerbomb and use a wad of HBC to install it.

    Also, your cIOSes are stubbed. You'll need to reinstall them.
     
  6. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    many thanks for your reply but how do you run wad manager with bannerbomb? where can i find a wad for hbc

    thankyou
     
  7. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Delete SD:\boot.elf (the hackmii installer)

    Get a copy of wad manager 1.5, rename the DOL to boot.dol if its not already named that, then put in the root of the SD card. It should be: SD:\boot.dol

    Google for an HBC wad, they're around. I can't link to it here. Put it in the SD:\Wad folder.

    Run bannerbomb and wad manager will start up. Select IOS60 for the IOS to use, NAND emulation should be disabled, and SD/USB is source. Install the HBC wad. Quit Wad Manager and restart wii. HBC should appear on the menu.
     
  8. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thankyou for your reply please can you advise if this is the right wad file for hbc IOS36-64-v1042.wad if it is then it did not work .
     
  9. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    :facepalm:

    That's an IOS wad. If you installed that now you can use the hackmii installer which wasn't working before. It will work now, if installing that wad succeeded.
     
  10. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thankyou for your reply this file IOS36-64-v1042.wad did install then i have use hackmill installer ? i thought hbc would appear after installing the wad
     
  11. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    wow i dont belive my eyes it has worked it has taken me nearly 3 days to do this thankyou for all your help [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    can anyone please advise on what i should do next after making a nand backup thankyou
     
  12. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    That wad isn't an HBC wad, it's an IOS. An older, unpatched version of IOS36 that hasn't been cIOSCORP'd. Now put the hackmii installer back on your card instead of wad manager and run that and it should work. Then follow xzxero's update to 4.2 guide to reinstall all of the legit IOS's to get rid of cIOSCORP since you clearly are not experienced enough to be dealing with that. Then do the modify 4.2 part.
     
  13. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Follow the simplistic mod guide to softmod. It's in the stickies.

    Let me explain: The cIOSCORP installer basically replaces every IOS with a cIOS, which is fakesigned with the trucha bug, which enables us to edit it. However, Team Twiizers doesn't like piracy so they made the hackmii installer refuse to install using any fakesigned IOS. But cIOSCORP installed one over every IOS. In installing that wad, you put an original, non fakesigned IOS back into your wii, thus allowing the installer to work.
     
  14. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thankyou for your reply this is not the first wii i have hacked but the third the reason why i lost everything was that i made the mistake of doing a offical update from 3.1 to 4.2 then i was advised to format the wii and then it got so confusing but now i am very happy to get this back i have made a nand backup and will look at the 4.2 guide that you have advised on ..
     
  15. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Whoever advised you to format probably didn't know what they were talking about. Under no circumstance can I think of a format being useful in any way other than as a feeble attempt to brick a Wii/needlessly lose any save data and whatnot that you may have. An official update to 4.2 is as good as a format itself in terms of homebrew cleansing. So all the format did was basically remove your save data and stuff like that.
     
  16. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    many thanks for your reply but getting problems still i am trying to get my wii back to 4.2e i have managed to get the homebrew channel back on but cannot install wad files as it keeps coming up with error 1035 and 2011 errors is there any way to fix this issue

    many thanks
     
  17. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    I believe those are generally due to not using an IOS that has the trucha bug. What IOS are you using in wad manager? IOS249? Is your cIOS properly installed there or is it still stubbed from the 4.2 update?
     
  18. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    many thanks for your reply it is iso 250

    thankyou
     

Share This Page