format towards future

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ilbalta, Jun 29, 2009.

Jun 29, 2009

format towards future by ilbalta at 5:11 PM (833 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. ilbalta
    OP

    Newcomer ilbalta Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Italy
    hi everybody here's my simple stupid question:
    i'm running 3.2E
    i installed various hacks such as preloader, dvdx the hbc (obviously), some C-IOS, the wii shop update etc..

    i was interested in updating to 4.0 and set up both the new bootmii and the new softmii 3

    but i'm kinda scared because i'm quite n00b and i don't really fully understand all the cios ios mios boot# etc stuff

    the insane idea i got is:
    i backup every savegame i have with savegame manger app (this would include even the ones like brawl that normally are locked)
    i format back to system menu 1.1E (i bought the wii as soon as it came out in europe)
    i upgrade to 4.0E
    i install everything

    so my question is:
    is my idea insanely stupid and i can just follow the http://softmii.org/section-blog/43-wiiguid...-softmod40.html guide with no fear or
    i'm not so stupid and i may format?

    please don't go hard on me =P

    thanks
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    formating is no good idea
    and it won't bring you to 1.1
    Better is to find another guide that downgrades you (to 3.2 lol)
     
  3. leondmsmith

    Member leondmsmith GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Make sure you dont do a Wii format from menu or you will end up with A BRICK!
     
  4. ilbalta
    OP

    Newcomer ilbalta Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Italy
    ok i got it my idea is simple stupid ^^

    however i'm alredy under 3.2E (i stickied to this due to datel's freeloader, even after geckoOS came out) and i was wondering if it is ok to update even with lots of stuff that i don't control :S
     
  5. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    And donĀ“t use softmii (to much crap in it)
     
  6. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
  7. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    Something to clean a Wii and install Sysmenu 4.0:

    Two times i use this way to fix my bricked Wii with SysMenu 4.0 with Preloader and one time i use it to clean up my Wii.

    1. Start Firmware Downgrader via HBC
    2. Downgrade to a Firmware < 3.3 and doesn't restart the Wii
    3. Again use Firmware Downgrader and install Firmware 3.3
    4. Restart the Wii
    5. Install Firmware 4.0 with the Wii itself
    6. Initialize(Is this the correct word?) the Wii


    There was no Problem for me, the Wii seems clean after this and work fine and with Bannerbomb i hack it again with nothing more than i need.


    No warranty that this is perfect, but for me it was ok for three times!
    Since this i only use simply what i need. No cIOSCORP, no mIOS, ... but if you need it i can say it also work fine on 4.0.


    Edit:
    *argh*
    Shame on me.
    After i read the posting from DeadlyFoez/FenrirWolf ... That ^^ is my way because i can't install BootMii as Boot2!
    I can only use it as IOS, and thats the reason to use a save way for everything.
    On an old Wii, with BootMii as Boot2 there is no problem to test everythink like a simple update to 4.0.
    You can restore the nand and try it again.
     
  8. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    To go to 4.0 just update. You don't need to do anything except make a restore point with BootMii just in case.
     

Share This Page