Homebrew Forcing 3ds to boot ntr games in twl mode?

  • Thread starter Deleted User
  • Start date
  • Views 2,790
  • Replies 11
D

Deleted User

Guest
Just curious if there is a way to boot a game cart in twl mode that is intended for ntr mode?
 

SCOTT0852

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
1,140
Trophies
0
Location
The Moon
XP
1,090
Country
United States
You can use DSiMenu++ to run an NTR game with TWL clock speed, but that breaks some games. I use it for Trackmania Turbo, but (for example) it causes the Sonic Rush trilogy to crash midway through any level.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Itzumi

Itzumi

tinkerer
Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2018
Messages
550
Trophies
0
Age
18
Location
USA
XP
761
Country
United States
You can use DSiMenu++ to run an NTR game with TWL clock speed, but that breaks some games. I use it for Trackmania Turbo, but (for example) it causes the Sonic Rush trilogy to crash midway through any level.
Taiko games just have a seizure when played in twl mode
 
  • Like
Reactions: SCOTT0852
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,226
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,025
Country
Norway
Just curious if there is a way to boot a game cart in twl mode that is intended for ntr mode?
The CycloDS iEvo did this, it had some drawbacks, namely bugs and broken wifi. Normally there is no reason you would want to do that. Running at TWL clock speed I can understand though, and that should have far less issues than just outright running them in TWL mode.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Itzumi

Vieela

GBATemp's official thinker™
Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2017
Messages
563
Trophies
0
XP
915
Country
Brazil
You can do it with DSiMenu++. It's great in some few games, because sometimes it does make the game run faster. I think GoldenEye 007 see some nice improvements when running on a faster clock speed, but i might just be confusing games here. But it's worth the try.
 

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,981
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,829
Country
United States
You can use DSiMenu++ to run an NTR game with TWL clock speed, but that breaks some games. I use it for Trackmania Turbo, but (for example) it causes the Sonic Rush trilogy to crash midway through any level.

Trilogy? There's only two Sonic Rush games.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
The CycloDS iEvo did this, it had some drawbacks, namely bugs and broken wifi. Normally there is no reason you would want to do that. Running at TWL clock speed I can understand though, and that should have far less issues than just outright running them in TWL mode.
Well it's not exactly for a specific game. I was curious on how running twl mode on a flash card, such as a r4igold rts would effect it. Since it does run everything in ntr mode. Including dsi enhanced games (which makes sense, since the cart itself is ntr and not twl)
 
Last edited by ,
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,226
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,025
Country
Norway
Well it's not exactly for a specific game. I was curious on how running twl mode on a flash card, such as a r4igold rts would effect it. Since it does run everything in ntr mode. Including dsi enhanced games (which makes sense, since the cart itself is ntr and not twl)
I don't think anyone's figured that out yet. DSi enhanced games would in theory work that way but the flashcart firmware might have issues running, and it might still try to boot DSi enhanced games in DS mode.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
I don't think anyone's figured that out yet. DSi enhanced games would in theory work that way but the flashcart firmware might have issues running, and it might still try to boot DSi enhanced games in DS mode.
Well the only way to see if it would cause problems would to test if it would work. Which is the reason I asked since as far as I know, there isn't any method of forcing a ntr physical game to boot into twl mode. I've seen it the other way with dsimenu++ since it does force twl carts to run as ntr.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

What I'm trying to say is if we don't try we won't know.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    DinohScene @ DinohScene: we've got some knowledgable people hanging around here, there's bound to be a solution for you ; )