For anyone gets "the software was closed because an error occurred" when portal 2 is loading, you need to turn on airplane mode

randy_w

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2021
Messages
346
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
711
Country
United States
As title suggests. Apparently portal 2 is another game that will error out when nintendo servers are blocked by dns mitm. Btw very decent port. Finally I can play portal on my switch, been pulling my hair out trying to get portal working on switchroot android until I realized it's not supported. Hopefully we can get half life 2 on switch too.
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
3,081
Trophies
2
XP
2,210
Country
United States
As title suggests. Apparently portal 2 is another game that will error out when nintendo servers are blocked by dns mitm. Btw very decent port. Finally I can play portal on my switch, been pulling my hair out trying to get portal working on switchroot android until I realized it's not supported. Hopefully we can get half life 2 on switch too.

BTW, I was able to remedy this on my Switch without

a) turning on airplane mode
or
b) turning off dns:mitm

…using .asm64 patches from the minds of @masagrator, @hippy dave and @bestpig here:

https://gbatemp.net/threads/is-it-f...nternet-connection-module.609819/post-9792052
https://gbatemp.net/threads/is-it-f...nternet-connection-module.609819/post-9793883

3B8E2754-CE17-466A-A712-A34930318D0C.jpeg


7FC22163-91E2-43D3-80A2-E001EE188028.jpeg

e: haven’t personally tried this latest one yet…

https://gbatemp.net/threads/is-it-f...nternet-connection-module.609819/post-9841382
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
3,081
Trophies
2
XP
2,210
Country
United States
The SaltySD patches didn´t work for me... :(


EDITED: sorry I didn't added the contntes folder by mistake.

It´s working!!!!
Wooohooo! Nice job man! Congrats! Be sure to thank the original authors.
(I’m just a dude who knows another dude who worked with some other dudes.)
 

Arrrchitects

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2021
Messages
49
Trophies
0
Age
122
XP
173
Country
United States
Any time I have a problem launching a game/it closing out on me randomly 'Airplane Mode' is the first thing I try. Surprisingly it almost always works for me and whatever game I'm having issues with.
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
3,081
Trophies
2
XP
2,210
Country
United States
Any time I have a problem launching a game/it closing out on me randomly 'Airplane Mode' is the first thing I try. Surprisingly it almost always works for me and whatever game I'm having issues with.
I used to have that issue on occasion. After applying the patches above I’ve not seen it pop back up so I’ve not had to use Airplane Mode ever since...knock on wood. It could be just coincidence of course, but I prefer to believe the patches have been almost a silver bullet.
 
  • Like
Reactions: peteruk

randy_w

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2021
Messages
346
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
711
Country
United States
It would be great if they integrate this patch into atmosphere, or make an option to enable/disable it.
I think lan multiplayer works, I can create a room and search for other players. Only installed portal on one of my switches so can't test for you, maybe someone else can answer.
 
  • Like
Reactions: binkinator

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
3,081
Trophies
2
XP
2,210
Country
United States
If I were to use the patch would local wireless work? Portal 2 crashes if I turn airplane mode back off.
Ive not tried it but encourage you to read through the discussion for confirmation. I believe it’s just masking a specific network response that makes the game error out. It shouldn’t impact local wireless at all. Try it and respond back here with your results. To roll back the patch, you simply remove the file and reboot. I left mine in and forgot about it until one of these threads pop up. LOL
 

darthnater4ever

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 26, 2018
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
282
Country
United States
Ive not tried it but encourage you to read through the discussion for confirmation. I believe it’s just masking a specific network response that makes the game error out. It shouldn’t impact local wireless at all. Try it and respond back here with your results. To roll back the patch, you simply remove the file and reboot. I left mine in and forgot about it until one of these threads pop up. LOL
I'm able to create a game fine but I won't be able to test multiplayer till tomorrow when I have access to my gf's switch. I'll update when that happens.

Update: I've looked around other places and have seen reports of it working
 
Last edited by darthnater4ever,
  • Love
Reactions: binkinator
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Lame yuzu won't read subfolders on the deck