1. fate6

    fate6 Haha, I killed a Pumpkin!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    286
    Country:
    United States
    Well in your case it should be a simple swap of files and pushing the payload of choice for Atmo, Make sure to grab sig patches and everything will just work.
     
  2. monkeyman4412

    monkeyman4412 Gbatemp's moronic trash
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,655
    Country:
    United States
    SxOs-----------Atmosphere
    xci loading------Full memory access with homebrew
    usb loading-----Reboot to payload both at will and on crash

    Both have means to block data being tracked, both have means to run nsps. Both have means to install xcis into a installable format. There's no other features that I'm aware that sx os has that is unique to it compared to atmosphere.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2019
  3. Rikua

    Rikua Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    Just out of curiosity, and I'm sure this has been answered a million times, but, it IS possible to run both SXOS and Atmos on the same microsd right? Im assuming it is as simple as copying the SX/Atmos files onto the SD and selecting the right payload, right?
     
  4. mikifantastik98

    mikifantastik98 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    Italy
    Best tool to convert Dreamcast GDI to CHD for Windows ???
    ...and ...
    ... there is something for Mac osx ???
     
  5. Condemned87

    Condemned87 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Germany
    But using NSP Games is dangerous... therefore - in my eyes - SX OS in combination with XCI files is the best solution for not being banned.
    If he is already using NSP with SX OS ... go on, try Atmo.
     
    DSSP likes this.
  6. gizmomelb

    gizmomelb GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    865
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm curious as to what the reason SX OS can't run this? Is it related to overclocking the switch for the emulator to run at full speed? LAN access for emulated NIC on the Dreamcast?

    EDIT: yes it appears you need to overclock the switch for most games to run at 100% speed on the emulator, according to the tweets.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2019
  7. wakabayashy

    wakabayashy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    633
    Country:
    France
    yes, you can put how many cfw you want on sd card
     
  8. chartube12

    chartube12 Captain Chaz 86
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,834
    Country:
    United States
    Current title is click bait. Reads like the Switch got emulation through retroarch
     
  9. RattletraPM

    OP RattletraPM GBATemp's official 蒸気イーブイ
    Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    897
    Country:
    Italy
    ...How so? The title states exactly what's going on: you can now get Flycast's core from RetroArch's own buildbot, their service dedicated to automatic compilation and distribution of libretro/RetroArch binaries & assets. Keep in mind I couldn't just write it got "released" in the title as the current build not only hasn't been PR'd yet and it's not part of a stable RetroArch release but also semi-official builds had already been circulating for a while - that would've been clickbait.
     
  10. chartube12

    chartube12 Captain Chaz 86
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,834
    Country:
    United States
    Flycast could of been a home brew developer. I certainly never heard of it. And it does say Switch core
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2019
    grey72 likes this.
  11. Reecey

    Reecey Mario 64 (favorite game of all time)
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5,595
    Country:
    What are you talking about? @m4xw has been working alongside on the main Dreamcast core flycast and he is one of Retroarchs main developers for the libretro team! Get your facts right numpty before you comment.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2019
  12. RattletraPM

    OP RattletraPM GBATemp's official 蒸気イーブイ
    Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    897
    Country:
    Italy
    The title says "core" because that's how libretro (and by extension RetroArch) calls its plugins. I honestly don't get how that part could've been interpreted as clickbait tho. Even if you don't know what a core is in this context and you assume Flycast is a developer, the resulting sentence doesn't seem to make logical sense to me (his Switch core? Of what?) let alone be mistaken for something bigger than it appears to be.
     
    Reecey likes this.
  13. hiroakihsu

    hiroakihsu SUPREME LURKER OF THE WORLD
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Country:
    United States
    Question...My switch is on permanent airplane mode (therefore i can't use wifi internet)...Is there any way I can get this new flycast core for retroarch? Thx.
     
    Silent_Gunner likes this.
  14. jeferey

    jeferey Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    France
    hiroakihsu likes this.
  15. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    Waiting for Yabause core only few good game there like Nights into Dreams and Panzer Dragoon. When Switch life cycle ends all cores and emulators be all fix n smooth.
     
    wakabayashy likes this.
  16. Josshy0125

    Josshy0125 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Should also mention that mx-whatever is a tx hater and bans anyone from his discord if they even ask for help and mention they use sx, thrn openly mocks them, claiming how horrible they (the person using, not sx...) are. Hes literal human scum. Talented dev, but absolute worthless piece of shit human. So im not sold that its "inadvertent"...
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2019
  17. m4xw

    m4xw Ancient Deity
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2018
    Messages:
    2,345
    Country:
    Germany
    [​IMG]
    BabyRage.
    I will never add DRM to my software, but if it doesn't work, it doesn't work.
    Not like I can fix their shit anyway without releasing a crack.

    I think I was more surprised than you, when the reports came in.
    Guess they must have ripped it out, laughs

    Btw if I reduce the features to make it work on SX, nearly all textures would be broken and it would be such a bad experience as reicast.
    So stick to that if you have to.
    Not much would be gained.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2019
  18. Josshy0125
    This message by Josshy0125 has been removed from public view by porkiewpyne, Sep 26, 2019, Reason: Thread cleanup.
    Sep 26, 2019 Show
  19. m4xw
    This message by m4xw has been removed from public view by porkiewpyne, Sep 26, 2019, Reason: Thread cleanup.
    Sep 26, 2019 Show
  20. Biff627
    This message by Biff627 has been removed from public view by porkiewpyne, Sep 26, 2019, Reason: Thread cleanup.
    Sep 26, 2019 Show
  21. HitchensRIP

    HitchensRIP GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Malta
    What are the chances to see GameCube running this well on CFW (not Android/Linux) in the future?
     
  22. m4xw

    m4xw Ancient Deity
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2018
    Messages:
    2,345
    Country:
    Germany
    Remind me when there's vulkan support, my port is half done.
    I don't see the point to continue.
    And no, it won't be that well, even with vulkan.
     
    HitchensRIP and wakabayashy like this.
  23. wakabayashy

    wakabayashy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    633
    Country:
    France
    so,saturn too will be possible if a vulkan support is added in near future ? (I hope but I dream ~~)