Flashme Question

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by yee, Aug 5, 2006.

Aug 5, 2006

Flashme Question by yee at 2:09 AM (2,032 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. yee
    OP

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    I was debating whether or not to flash my DS as I have heard it saves battery time by ALOT.

    So one question is, it autoboots to the flash cart loader menu if my EZ4Lite is inside, right?

    What if I want to play an original DS game? Do I just do that hold select button as I turn it on and it will bring me to the original menu ?

    In that original menu, is it the same as the original Nintendo firmware? With all the options and handheld settings?

    So basically, Flashme is the same Nintendo firmware, with the additions of autobooting flash carts, and minusing the caution screen on bootup right?

    I have a DS Phat and is it there a way to brick my DS? I heard that if you bridge something wrong, the DS autoturns off leaving me a brick, or is that just for DS Lite?
     


  2. bullet007

    Member bullet007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    you just summed up all of flashme.

    And there is a VERY VERY small chance that you will brick your DS, even smaller because you have a Phat DS (the only way to brick a phat DS is if you turn it off while flashing, since there is nothing near the SL1 port on the phat DS that can cause it to turn off)
     
  3. yee
    OP

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh okay, so no worries of messing up while bridging right?

    And is there a crab that randomly pops up? I read about a crab that pops up randomly in the Nintendo menu in another thread.

    Also, is there a way to reflash the original Nintendo firmware?
     
  4. bullet007

    Member bullet007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Yes, you can reflash your DS with the original nintendo firmware (why would you anyway? Flashme features are are very good.)

    About the crab thing.......It was a joke.
     
  5. yee
    OP

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    Because in the future, I might resell my old DS to get the Lite version, lol.

    What about sleep mode? Does it work?

    P.S. Just went to the installation guide, it doesn't tell me how to flash DS Phat.. [​IMG]
     
  6. bullet007

    Member bullet007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Sleep mode only works if you leave ANY NDS game in the NDS slot.

    EDIT: Ok. The instalation guide. everything is the same EXCEPT when you unscrew the battery cover of the phat DS, instead of looking toward the bottom, you need to remove a little piece of red tape that is over a hold. The SL1 contact is directly under that red piece of security tape.

    And there is no other contact near the SL1 on phat DS. so chances of bricking are minimal (unless you turn off the DS while flashing)
     
  7. yee
    OP

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    If I leave Metroid Prime First Hunt, would that work for sleep mode?

    But if I leave that in there, wouldn't it defeat the purpose of trying to save battery because of the NoPass device?
     
  8. GHB

    Newcomer GHB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Auckland
    Country:
    New Zealand
    From my experience leaving a game in doesn't affect the battery life, but using a flashcart in the gba slot will significantly reduce it [​IMG] and yes MP First Hunt will work for sleep mode
     
  9. yee
    OP

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    So, if I were to just try to save battery life, but keep the sleep mode in with the Metroid game, I'd be better off not flashing at all?
     
  10. bullet007

    Member bullet007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    No. When you have a passcard/superkey/passkey2/ect.., the DS is constantly reading the NDS port because the pass device constantly has to redirect all data from the GBA port.

    When you flash the DS, the data goes strait from the GBA port into the processors (without flash, it goes from GBA port to DS port to processors)

    The only time the DS will look into the DS port is when you put the DS into sleep mode.

    So if you want to save alot of battery life, flash your DS (i did, and i dont regret it)
     
  11. yee
    OP

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah...

    So do I download the Flashme file from the original site or the guide?

    Is that Flashme Stealth the latest?
     
  12. bullet007

    Member bullet007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Look for Flashme v7

    Flashme stealth is just flashme but has the warning screen when you turn on the DS
     
  13. yee
    OP

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a V1 firmware DS, should it be fine ?

    I will be using an EZ4Lite MiniSD + EZPass3
     
  14. bullet007

    Member bullet007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Should be fine. (i have a V1 DS Phat that i flashme'd too)
     
  15. yee
    OP

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    Fuck, it's not flashing!

    I have tried a screwdriver with a blackhead and a toothpick wrapped in cooking aluminum foil, it's stuck at 0%

    Is it okay to turn it off right now? How exactly am I suppose to bridge it? I just stick it in the hole right?
     
  16. bullet007

    Member bullet007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    I just stuck mine in there. (i used a screwdriver for phat DS)

    however, i highly reccomend a rolled up piece of tin foil. flashed my DSL in a matter of seconds.
     
  17. MrSpam

    Newcomer MrSpam Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    You can turn it off at 0% I've done that several times. You're on a DS phat right? Well, when you put in your flashing tool, push the aluminum foil down into the hole(I did this with a NDSL when it wouldn't flash) to try to connect the 1 pieces together
     
  18. yee
    OP

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    NVM, got it! I used a nail head and it works perfectly, whoooo! But too bad they couldn't get rid of the original white flashes, lol. So I should experience better battery life now right? Does it matter what DS game should be in the DS for sleep mode? Would having an EZPass3 still drain battery life more than having that Metroid game?
     
  19. bullet007

    Member bullet007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    You dont even need the EZpass anymore (sell it or keep it, doesnt matter)

    it would be better to keep the metroid game in.

    and say hello to better battery life! [​IMG]
     
  20. yee
    OP

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks bullet for helping me alot [​IMG]
     

Share This Page