Flashme DS LITE

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by mart_kt, Jan 11, 2007.

Jan 11, 2007

Flashme DS LITE by mart_kt at 4:49 PM (1,107 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. mart_kt
    OP

    Newcomer mart_kt Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all

    Iv very new to this i have a R4 card and would like to know, not that i have one , is there any point in me flashing the ds lite,

    and if is better, can i do it with the R4 card

    many thanks

    Mart
    [​IMG]
     
  2. wohoo

    Member wohoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Country:
    Sweden
    you won't NEED it, if you got a R4DS [​IMG]
     
  3. 5uck3rpunch

    Member 5uck3rpunch Surf Monster!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Texas - USA
    Country:
    United States
    Since you have a Slot 1 cart, you don't need to flash the DS.
     
  4. Kaphis

    Member Kaphis GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Richmond
    Country:
    Canada
    lol~!!! I like how the both of you failed to answer his question.

    Yes there is an advantage to having it flashed, certain game's single cart multiplayer still only works when you have flashed system regardless of what slot1/slot2 you use.

    And I am assuming that you can flash it with the r4ds but I have not tried it myself.

    Since noflashme-lite just came out, you are pretty much safe if you want to remove it.
     
  5. Tsunami_bomber

    Newcomer Tsunami_bomber Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    The disadvantages far outweight the advantages, though. A flashed DS A: Has no warranty and B: can potentially be bricked. And don't forget the fact that unflashing a DS is a riskier proposition than flashing one, seeing as how the unflashing process doesn't have a rescue function.
     
  6. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's an unflashed DS that can potentially be bricked. A flashed DS has a failsafe to resurrect it if it's bricked.
     
  7. WishCow

    Newcomer WishCow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Hungary
    He probably meant bricking by flashing.
     
  8. Kaphis

    Member Kaphis GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Richmond
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know about you but being able to play download play is waaaaaaaay better advantage O.o.....like seriously.....am I the only one who does this?.....give my supercard + superkey to my nonflash friend and then use my own flashed system to download play? Like do people not understand how that solves most 2 player "download play" problems?

    And this is speaking from experience..they do not check your DS for firmware when warranty...second thing is that there is noflashme now, third is that if you make the tool properly, you CAN'T fail O.o
     
  9. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    Also, you get rid of the health warning screen, and you should go straight into your card's menu, that is another pro IMHO,and if you like homebrew, there might still be a slightest chance of someday running malicious software that might brick your DSL(I know it's almost impossible but the chance stands), but if you have flashme you can always recover a damaged firmware.
     
  10. GexX2

    Member GexX2 Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Tennesee, US
    Country:
    United States
    Ya, thats true, I made my tool from a aluminum foil tipped toothpick, and I taped up everything but a bit of the tip and I could wiggle it in there as much as I wanted with no issues. This is on a lite btw.
     
  11. Kaphis

    Member Kaphis GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Richmond
    Country:
    Canada
    I use two paperclips and electrical tape ^^
     
  12. slayerspud

    Member slayerspud GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seriously i don't get why people say it's so easy to brick while flashing.

    I was flashing my Dsl and my mates dsl the other day. I was just using a nail and it was fine. The only people who seem to brick them are tards.
     

Share This Page