Flashing a Nintendo DS

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by shinji257, Jun 4, 2007.

Jun 4, 2007

Flashing a Nintendo DS by shinji257 at 4:57 AM (2,876 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. shinji257
    OP

    Member shinji257 61396C68206D61737465722072616365 :3

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. I plan on getting another Nintendo DS unit. This one is going to be flashed (I will have one unflashed unit just in case). Now here is the issue. I tend to have shaky hands. Especially when I am nervous. I had ruined one Playstation 2 due to my hands. Now here is my question. Would I have better luck flashing an older Nintendo DS or a Nintendo DS Lite that has the weird issue with the SL1 contact?

    I'm actually kinda worried that I will lose contact with SL1 part way through the install and end up with a $130 brick. On that note though I would be more than willing to drop $100 for a pre-owned Nintendo DS "Phat" that I knew was going to flash successfully no matter what happened short of powering off or losing power during the flashing process.... Don't worry but plugging the AC adapter in will be part of the game plan for the flash.
     


  2. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    DS Phat. The DSL does not have a seperator between the SL1 and...the other one...

    As far as the shaky hands, as long as you use something like the foil/toothpick trick, you'll be good.
     
  3. ahtin

    Member ahtin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    I have flash over 50 units of NDSL and over 200 NDS for my forum freinds, all success, Good Luck

    for your information:

    1. using a good tools for short the SL1
    2. do not turn off your NDSL beofre 1% because safe mode will be installed at the first block of yr firmware
    3. if u really very lucky that u turn off at 0% anc can not turn it on anymore, there are still some solution for yr DSL
     
  4. shinji257
    OP

    Member shinji257 61396C68206D61737465722072616365 :3

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    United States
    For the NDSL: Any surefire tool that will prevent the power-off issue from occuring? This is the issue where for some reason repeat shorts of SL1 will result in the NDSL being turned off. I found a thread about it over in scdev.org. Apparently you can check for this by repeatedly shorting SL1 without ever starting the flashing process (e.g. do it at the main screen where pictochat and stuff is at). I did this and it shut off at random points. It may of done it at the first hit or it may of done it at the 4th hit. Or any number in between. Kinda random eh?


    On the NDS "phat": Anything I should look out for when I go to flash it? Any objects that shouldn't be shorted that I could accidentally hit?

    EDIT: Topic over at scdev.org -- http://scdev.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4339
     
  5. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm also looking to flash my (phat) DS. But I don't want to mess it up...

    My brother is now looking for a M3 Lite. He doesn't want to pay much for a flashcard, but he wanted GBA. That actually... contradicts [​IMG] But now he wants a M3 Lite for €60,-. That's his border. A passcard is too expansive [​IMG]
    This is my chance to flash his DS...
     
  6. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    Aw shucks, if you guys were in Canada I could have just flashed your DS's for free...
     
  7. bennydigital

    Member bennydigital GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Country:
    United States
    flash the NDSL use a toothpick with foil wrapped around it then put tape around that untill it fits in the hold nice an tight and shakey hands wont matter my hands were shaking because I was scared of FN' it up but now that I look back it was easy.
     
  8. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Best tool ever:

    Take a cotton swab and cut off the end
    Take a tiny amount of aluminum foil and shove it inside the hole
    Make sure the foil covers the tip but doesn't wrap around it

    100% foolproof and you never lose contact with the pad!
     
  9. Darkspark

    Member Darkspark GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use those little screw drivers you use to open the battery case with.

    It takes longer, as you have to make contact just right and keep it there, but it works well.

    Just ensure you give yourself ample time, and ensure you aren't disturbed by somebody asking you to do another job or something. Nothing else happens until you get your DS to 100%. Nothing!
     
  10. shinji257
    OP

    Member shinji257 61396C68206D61737465722072616365 :3

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    United States
    Could you flash mine for me please? I can pay shipping both ways for you and maybe even throw in something extra for doing it for me. [​IMG] I'm located in Pennsylvania, USA but shipping both ways is no problem for me. I'll just setup for a UPS shipment to you with a pre-paid return label packaged in the box for you to use for the return run.


    EDIT: If you can promise me that you can actually do this without bricking a NDS Lite then I will be more than willing to ship you a brand new black NDS Lite unopened to flash for me. Just pack it back up in the box when it is returned. [​IMG]
     
  11. ahtin

    Member ahtin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    flashing a NDSL is not a terriable job, if u really afraid that, u can short yr SL1 just like mod a Wii b4 flashing, this is a 100% work for flashing a NDSL
     
  12. ryohki

    Member ryohki GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Australia
    my question is why?
    I mean, really... unless you're using slot 2, why do you need to flash?
     
  13. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    In case you get a bricker(I know theres only 2, but it could still happen).
     
  14. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    It also allows you to accept and run download play off most flashcards (r4 is not one of them)
     
  15. shinji257
    OP

    Member shinji257 61396C68206D61737465722072616365 :3

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    United States
    Actually I have both a slot-1 and a slot-2 unit. But I do have my reasons for doing this. Among them is the bricker scenario like The Last Spartian has already stated

    Just curious as to where they have said that flashme will not resolve download play issues from flashcarts. Not that it is important to me but I am curious.

    EDIT: nevermind. I found several threads on the r4ds forums at r4ds.net state that flashme doesn't help with download play on the r4ds. If I ever get serious about download play for a game then I will probably either get the real game (which I would probably already have if I liked it enough) or get a DS-X which has perfect download play support. But that really was a moot point and download play was never really a reason for me to do this.
     
  16. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    As some others said: for Bricking, download play and booting slot 2 [​IMG]
     
  17. shinji257
    OP

    Member shinji257 61396C68206D61737465722072616365 :3

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    United States
    Well I plan on flashing mine with the no autoboot stealth firmware.
     
  18. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States

    I live in the US and I can do it for you (cheaper shipping).
    Here's a video of me doing mine: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-1OvPFtSZcM
     
  19. shinji257
    OP

    Member shinji257 61396C68206D61737465722072616365 :3

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    United States
    Well I have already PM'd someone and we are going through the arrangements already. Thanks for the offer though.
     
  20. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So am I. It rocks [​IMG] It only has positive sides when comparing with the original firmware. It still has the Health and Safety warning, and it will only boot Slot 2 when you press select.
     

Share This Page