Hacking Flashing a DVD drive through a USB-SATA adapter?

pustal

Yeah! This is happenin'!
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2011
Messages
1,570
Trophies
2
Location
Emerald Coast
Website
web.archive.org
XP
6,419
Country
Portugal
I ask this so I can understand if I can use my laptop to do it.

I have a USB-SATA adapter, does it make a difference?

If it matters, haven't checked the DVD drive model but the console is a red phat, Resident Evil edition PAL.
 

raulpica

With your drill, thrust to the sky!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
11,056
Trophies
0
Location
PowerLevel: 9001
XP
5,716
Country
Italy
I haven't modded a 360 drive in a long long time, but AFAIK you can't do it with USB-to-SATA adapters. The only one that worked was made by Team Xecuter itself (X360USB).
 
  • Like
Reactions: pustal

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,599
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
23,127
Country
Antarctica
It depends if it has a compatible SATA chipset in it or not.
If it doesn't, it doesn't work and you'll either have to find one to flash it for you or get a X360 usb pro

You'll need Jungleflasher to flash it, it comes with a manual that will guide you through the flashing process as well as the identifying process.
 
  • Like
Reactions: pustal

raulpica

With your drill, thrust to the sky!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
11,056
Trophies
0
Location
PowerLevel: 9001
XP
5,716
Country
Italy
It depends if it has a compatible SATA chipset in it or not.
Are you sure about this Dinoh? There are no reports of any USB adapter working except the X360 USB on the interwebs :unsure:

Or are you talking about the laptop's internal chipset? That can be used only if the laptop has an eSATA port :P
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,599
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
23,127
Country
Antarctica
What about a SATA <-> eSATAp ?

eSATA is connected "directly" to SATA.

Are you sure about this Dinoh? There are no reports of any USB adapter working except the X360 USB on the interwebs :unsure:

Or are you talking about the laptop's internal chipset? That can be used only if the laptop has an eSATA port :P

X360 USB is also powered by a SATA chipset.
So any SATA to USB adapter that sports the same chipset would be compatible.
I mean, it doesn't work on magic smoke ;p

Laptops internal SATA chipset will work yep.
If it's compatible with Jungleflasher that is.
 

raulpica

With your drill, thrust to the sky!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
11,056
Trophies
0
Location
PowerLevel: 9001
XP
5,716
Country
Italy
X360 USB is also powered by a SATA chipset.
So any SATA to USB adapter that sports the same chipset would be compatible.
I mean, it doesn't work on magic smoke ;p

Laptops internal SATA chipset will work yep.
If it's compatible with Jungleflasher that is.
I thought that Team Xecuter did some weird stuff which blocked normal USB-SATA adapters from working? I'd have heard otherwise :P
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,599
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
23,127
Country
Antarctica
I thought that Team Xecuter did some weird stuff which blocked normal USB-SATA adapters from working? I'd have heard otherwise :P

Hmm could very well be.
I also vaguely recall something similar but hey, enough time has passed.

I honestly tend to stick with the products they provide me.
Mostly always out of convenience as I can't be bothered spending hours trying to get something to work just to flash one DVD drive for example, when I can do it in 10 minutes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: raulpica

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
36,795
Trophies
3
XP
28,427
Country
United Kingdom
I have no idea on the USB stuff, though other than the standalone flashers I had not heard of anybody doing it.
If you still have a PCMCIA slot on the laptop there were sata cards made for it using the same chipset as the classic via6421 stuff from the desktop cards that was the gold standard for DVD flashing (8421 it might have been, PCMCIA would be a reasonable search term if you want to head down that path). They were even rarer and harder to come by (and naturally that means more expense) than the desktop stuff as time went on there, and this was several years ago so it is probably not better today.

Alternatively some docking stations have a PCI slot if you have a laptop which supports such things.

For the expense and effort though you would probably be better off finding someone to flash it for you.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "No points for grazing him, that's just amateur hour."
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Some are saying the kid was paid off by a online terror group or whatever
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Disturbed young man."
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Iranian sleeper agent."
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "False flag."
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I don't get people that make these attempts knowing they'll die just go in balls deep kamikaze style
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Too many meat shields in the way, sniping from a high vantage point is the only way.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    But it was ar15 iirc
  • Veho @ Veho:
    AR-15, effective range 500 yards, and the guy was at 150 yards from Trump.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Still missed
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Skill issue.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Take the L. :tpi:
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Wouldn't be the first time Trump got red skeeted on his face
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I was reading the kid failed shooting classes left and right imagine if it was a pissed off marine
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Or a pissed-on marine.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    There will be other rallies.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    The story of how a new born took aim at trump
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    How could the secret service see this coming
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Doesn't the baby have the right to bear arms?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Raised by bears grew claws
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I choose bear.
  • Tofu_mommy @ Tofu_mommy:
    is there a way to hide my country? I can't find an option to do so.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Set it to the South Pole or something.
    Veho @ Veho: Set it to the South Pole or something.