Flashing a benq

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Digeman, Aug 19, 2008.

Aug 19, 2008

Flashing a benq by Digeman at 5:26 PM (1,133 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Digeman
    OP

    Member Digeman GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hey guys just want to ask a short simple question. Gonna buy a new premium xbox360 20 gig with the hdmi port and it's got a benQ discreader. If what i have heard is right then they are flashable right? There isn't any new versions that come with the hdmi version of the premium or anything?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is a lite-on drive now , it looks exactly the same as the benq , except it isn't flashable. Only way to tell them apart is the wires in a hole on the front.

    http://www.llamma.com/xbox360/repair/manua...box_360_dvd.htm

    Hole 3

    White wires =benq , yellow wires= lite-on


    Benq is flashable , lite-on is not. So be 100% sure it's a benq if you want to flash it.
     
  3. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    BenQ's are a cake to flash. What's the manufacture date of the 360? If its recent, say within the past 3 or 4 months, then it might not be flashable. Otherwise it should be smooth sailing!! [​IMG]
     
  4. Digeman
    OP

    Member Digeman GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    Sweden
    So even if it is a benq it still might not be flashable if it's new?
     
  5. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No all the benQs are flashable. It's just recently made 360 have the lite-on which is not flashable , and the lite-on looks the same as the benQ.
     
  6. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You will most likely get a lite-on [​IMG]

    EDIT: You seem to not know alot about this dvd drive stuff, are you sure you want to flash the dvd-drive (if you do get a ben-q) i suggest you get someone else who knows what they are doing.
     
  7. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Just because he's new to the 360 scene doesn't mean he's not skilled enough to perform the flash. Lol, we were all n00bs once [​IMG]
     
  8. WeaponXxX

    Member WeaponXxX Too F'in Blonde

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,868
    Location:
    Currently in Chicagoooooooo
    Country:
    United States
    I just flashed my BenQ, just make sure to get a via sata card. I got mine from newegg for 13 bucks. It took under 20 minutes to dissassemble 2 360s, mod em and reassemble.

    My question, going online (mainly for game updates), as long as I am steath patched I am Okay, is this correct?
     
  9. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Correct!
     
  10. WeaponXxX

    Member WeaponXxX Too F'in Blonde

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,868
    Location:
    Currently in Chicagoooooooo
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the quick reply Prime!
    Just got me a SH-d163b and am backing up a buttload of my games as we speak good to know I can take em online!
     
  11. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lite-ons can have their key read now [​IMG]. So if you get one , you can change it to one of the old hackable drives now [​IMG].
     
  12. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where did you read this?

    EDIT: Nevermind, found it
     
  13. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] , there's a thread on xbox-scene about it as well. Bit of soldering required and you need a lvttl-rs232 converter , but you can buy ready made ones or make one yourself for cheap (£10ish) and it's better than nothing [​IMG]. Also have to spoof manually as well.

    Least the lite-on owners have a option now [​IMG] , though no doubt people will moan as it requires some effort , rather than just a button press.
     

Share This Page