Flashcarting For A Total Noob (Like me :()

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by Jack Von Koopa, Jun 30, 2010.

Jun 30, 2010
  1. Jack Von Koopa
    OP

Newcomer Jack Von Koopa Newbie

United Kingdom
    Hey everyone, I signed up here today [​IMG]

Basically, I have a Game Boy Advance SP, and a few games for it, including Super Mario World, Super Mario Brothers 3 and GTA Advance. I've been restricted in buying more games by having to spend money on more important things, but I'd love to have a bigger library of games to play.

So I read about this whole flashcart thing, and as my dad uses something similar to play games on his DS, I was pretty happy when I found out about it. I've done some research and it seems pretty complicated to me, especially the flashcarts themselves and which ones best and does what. I've also heard some terminology that I dont understand, like for example, what are homebrew games?

I'm sorry to be a complete noob, but I'd really appreciate it if someone could walk me through it? Assuming I dont know anything [​IMG] Because I dont :| All I want to be able to do is have a decent amount of games on the cart, it'd also be pretty cool if they could play GBC games as well [​IMG] What do you guys think?

2. The Real Jdbye

Member The Real Jdbye D:

Norway
    Homebrew is unofficial apps and games made by users of GBAtemp and other sites.
    The best flashcart is the CycloDS, but the best value for money is the Acekard 2.1. You'd probably want to go for the Acekard 2.1 (buy it from ShopTemp), but remember to install AKAIO on it (you can find it on filetrip.net, it's an unofficial firmware). AKAIO vastly improved upon the original firmware.

3. The Pi

Member The Pi Lurker

United Kingdom
    First welcome!!!

Homebrew games and apps are made unofficially and can only be run through a flashcard

For gba flashcards the only decent one available now is the EZ-Flash IV here is a review link

feel free to ask anything else