Flashcards Unusable on European DSi Users

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Rock Raiyu, Mar 24, 2009.

Mar 24, 2009
  1. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Well it was bound to happen, the new flashcards don't work on the European DSi.

    And since it doesn't work on European DSi, it most likely won't work on American DSi either. Back to the drawing board..

    News Source: GoNintendo
     


  2. omatic

    Member omatic GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Jeez, that sucks. Do not want.

    I'm hoping there will be a solution quickly, because my excitement over getting a DSi (eventually) will be considerably less if there isn't one.
     
  3. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Now would someone please explain to me, the full technical details on how DSi is even able to block flashcarts?

    I've yet to find a straight answer.
     
  4. Agent007

    Member Agent007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    NOOO ... so i ordered an acekard2i for nothing ? ... good thing i didnt preorder the DSi [​IMG]
     
  5. skarthebloodchild

    Member skarthebloodchild Keep It Old School

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,215
    Location:
    Greece
    Country:
    Greece
    It is just a matter of time.
    The Chinese will make new flashcards for sure [​IMG]
     
  6. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The DSTTi should work though? As it uses a real game to bypass the protection placed by Nintendo? Can't anyone test it?
     
  7. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    We can only blame the companies who released DSi compatible flashcarts before the DSi was available across the world.
     
  8. ChaosBoi

    Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    This doesn't surprise me one bit, as I knew something like this will happen, considering how flashcarts for the DSi were released way too early. I'm hoping for an SD card solution to this, because even though I'm already planning on getting a DSi, I'll be sticking with my Lite for the time being.
     
  9. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    That might be the reason why there is no CDSi
     
  10. omatic

    Member omatic GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, shame on them for releasing a product that had a demand for it. They should have taken the moral high ground and not released anything until we could all pirate things together worldwide.
     
  11. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    This really shouldn't have been a surprise to anyone. I'll be keeping my DSlite, thank you very much. I've a feeling that flashcart use on a DSi will always be a cat-and-mouse game at best. A flashcart team releases a cart that works on DSi, Ninty releases firmware update in a AAA title to disable it, flashcart team releases update to make it work again.....vicious circle, round and round.

    I only see two pairs of possibilities here. Either the DSi will ultimately fail as far as us pirates go, or we'll get a super flashcart the likes of which we've never seen before. Possibly some hacker will crack the encryption on the DSi's firmware, or someone will come up with a hardware mod, at which point all bets are off.
     
  12. manaphy4ever

    Member manaphy4ever GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    505
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Oh shit i just order acekard2i before two days and its shipped today i hope acekard team will release a firmware update for dsi i hope XD [​IMG]
     
  13. JumpMan3

    Member JumpMan3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    United States
    I knew this would happen. I Think Team Cyclo played it smart, and even when they got their flash cart working at the Japan DSi launch, they waited until it was released in the rest of the world knowing that Nintendo would counter act.

    I'm just gonna wait until someone hacks the firmware, so we can play games from the SD slot or from one of the existing DSLite flashcards, before I buy a DSi.
     
  14. lakaiskateboarding

    Member lakaiskateboarding GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    No you can't, everybody wanted them and people should have thought it over before buying them. If the companies didn't release them for the Japanese version, people would have been complaining. Also, the companies only want to make money, so if they have the chance to release something they will do it.
     
  15. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Sucks for the early european adopters of ak2i.

    Maybe if AK team takes the same generous stance as they've had with past products, and they produce a fixed ak2i, they might do replacements.

    Who knows...

    Worth to get some other confirmation though, the source might be completely mistaken.
    I'd wait until we get more confirmation.
     
  16. Raven Darkheart

    Member Raven Darkheart The Radioactive Flamer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Cyclo DS Paradise
    Country:
    United States
    +1 QFT

    I thought about getting one but i passed on it. i dont mind the cat and mouse game as much because that is how the wii has been and the wii scene has been good so far.

    im surprised at how impatient some of you DSI nuthuggers are.......just relax and someone will get it cracked eventually
     
  17. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,925
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    [EDIT] I think the all are blocked, but i'll see as soon as i have my European DSi
    Lucky i have also a Japanese DSi /

    So we now know the AK2i doesn't work, I hope someone can already test the other cards (see pictures), if not i'll keep you informed when i get my European DSi (pre-ordered to be sure to get one)

    -------------

    Click on an image to get a largere view!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  18. valyr

    Member valyr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the four characters under the icons highlighted just mean start or begin
     
  19. Link5084

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    That super flashcart your speaking can only be possible by Team Cyclops [​IMG]
     
  20. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Nintendo is finally using their heads.. wasn't expecting this.

    Anyway, this can probably be fixed with a firmware update [​IMG]
     

Share This Page