Fizeau - Adjust color of your Switch screen

Fizeau
test.png

Adjust the color of the screen of your Nintendo Switch.

Features:
  • Modify the color temperature of the display.
  • Filter colors to one single component.
  • Apply color corrections: gamma, luminance, and color range.
  • Control the screen backlight brightness.
  • Schedule settings to be applied to dusk/dawn time, with smooth transitions.
Installation:
Download the latest zip from the release page, unzip it to the root of your sd card (be careful to merge and not overwrite folders), and reboot.
Only the latest version of the Atmosphère CFW is supported.
If you want to use the overlay, you will need to set up Tesla (install Tesla-Menu and ovlloader). This isn't supported on firmware versions prior to 9.0.0.


Supported firmwares:
All firmares are expected working. The software was tested working on 1.0.0, 2.0.0, 6.0.0 and 10.1.0. If you encounter an issue running this on a particular version, please create an issue.
Settings:
  • Settings are saved at /switch/Fizeau/config.ini, which you can also edit.
  • To reduce the memory usage of the sysmodule, settings are not read continually. Instead, they are applied on application launch. Thus, you will need to launch the client after a reboot to restart Fizeau.

Link: https://github.com/averne/Fizeau/
 

Attachments

  • Fizeau-2.0.0-6b72dca.zip
    1.4 MB · Views: 39
Last edited by averne,

averne

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
137
Trophies
0
XP
994
Country
France
Anyone able to get the chainloader version working on 13.1.0? On boot I get:
A fatal error occurred when running Atmosphere.
Program ID: 0100000000000f12
Error Desc: std::abort() called (0xffe)

Tried fusee.bin and my normal hekate.bin, neither work.

Non-chainloader version works great though!

EDIT: Got the Chainloader version working by dumb luck on 13.1.0.
I noticed the only difference (I think) between the chainloader version and non-chainloader is that the chainloader version has an extra folder in Atmosphere/Contents, this one: 010000000000CF12. So I just took the non-chainloader version and extracted it to my SD Card, then copied over 010000000000CF12 as well. Then it worked! I have Fizeau adjusted colors ON BOOT!!!! :)


The 0100000000000F12 folder in the chainloader version seems to be missing files in that folder...that may be the issue with the chainloader version...
I'm not aware of any other reported issues regarding the chainloader version. I use it myself with no problems. It might just be some corrupted file during the zip extraction, or something.
 

sean222

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2007
Messages
65
Trophies
0
XP
426
Country
Canada
I'm not aware of any other reported issues regarding the chainloader version. I use it myself with no problems. It might just be some corrupted file during the zip extraction, or something.

If you open the chainloader zip file, you will see the 0100000000000F12 folder only contains 1 file, exefs.nsp
If you open the non-chainloader zip file, you will see the 0100000000000F12 folder contains 3 things, flags folder, toolbox.json, and exefs.nsp.

Is this correct?

If I add the flags folder and toolbox.json, then I can get it to work, all else the same.

Edit: Ok looking at your previous releases on Github, they all have the same file structure, so I'm probably doing something wrong then.

Edit 2: All good. Chainloader version works fine. I had another plugin/overlay that was causing a conflict.
 
Last edited by sean222,

Fgamer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
122
Trophies
0
XP
1,287
Country
@averne first of all thanks for the tool, it's fantastic.

Just a quick question out of curiousity: using the latest version of Fizeau 2.3.0, atmosphere 1.2.5 and firmware 13.2.0 there's a noticeable delay of a few seconds when opening the homebrew or overlay compared to previous versions, apart from that everything seems to be working fine. Is that expected behaviour?
 

averne

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
137
Trophies
0
XP
994
Country
France
@averne first of all thanks for the tool, it's fantastic.

Just a quick question out of curiousity: using the latest version of Fizeau 2.3.0, atmosphere 1.2.5 and firmware 13.2.0 there's a noticeable delay of a few seconds when opening the homebrew or overlay compared to previous versions, apart from that everything seems to be working fine. Is that expected behaviour?
You're right, it was caused by a leftover thing from when I was working on something. Fixed it in the latest commit, you can get the CI build from here if you want.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Fgamer

sean222

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2007
Messages
65
Trophies
0
XP
426
Country
Canada
You're right, it was caused by a leftover thing from when I was working on something. Fixed it in the latest commit, you can get the CI build from here if you want.
404 Page not found for that link.

Edit: Nevermind, works fine. Have to log in to Github first.

Edit 2: Tested this version and there is no delay opening the Fizeau overlay. Thank you!
 
Last edited by sean222,

nashismo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Messages
503
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Home sweet Home (Mi casita)
XP
1,118
Country
Chile
Dear Averne:

I am having a very big problem with my Switch and my TV and you seem to be the only one working on something that could fix it.

You know that almost all Switch games suffer from the famous color banding issue right? Picture here:
alxeEEx.png


This problem not only occurs in Mario 3D all stars but in every single game on the Switch! if you really analize them one by one.

I wouldn't mind so much about this issue, but the problem for me is that I have an LG Plasma TV from 2013 and it looks beautiful, BUT, everytime I move my camera, it looks horrendous. It is hard to explain, but is like the contrast goes completely crazy, it like the color banding multiplies by 100 percent! (a good way to replicate this, is by looking at the sun in Mario Oddysey and then moving the camera).

It is truly horrible and I couldn't capture it on my phone.

But here is the deal, the problem ONLY happens on the Switch!! I use the same TV with my PS3 and games look wonderfull! There is no color banding and therefore (because this seems to be the reason), the TV doesn't start with those problems I mentioned earlier (I tried many games on the PS3 and I could not replicate the problem).

In summary, the only variable that creates this problem, is color banding, present on every game on the Switch!!

Do you know how this could be fixed? My guess is that if we somehow could get rid of color banding alltogether in the Switch color output, we could in theory fix my problem and I guess many people's problems on their TV's and their Switch's.

Thank you so much Averne! Any help would be apreciated.
 

averne

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
137
Trophies
0
XP
994
Country
France
Dear Averne:

I am having a very big problem with my Switch and my TV and you seem to be the only one working on something that could fix it.

You know that almost all Switch games suffer from the famous color banding issue right? Picture here:
View attachment 288718

This problem not only occurs in Mario 3D all stars but in every single game on the Switch! if you really analize them one by one.

I wouldn't mind so much about this issue, but the problem for me is that I have an LG Plasma TV from 2013 and it looks beautiful, BUT, everytime I move my camera, it looks horrendous. It is hard to explain, but is like the contrast goes completely crazy, it like the color banding multiplies by 100 percent! (a good way to replicate this, is by looking at the sun in Mario Oddysey and then moving the camera).

It is truly horrible and I couldn't capture it on my phone.

But here is the deal, the problem ONLY happens on the Switch!! I use the same TV with my PS3 and games look wonderfull! There is no color banding and therefore (because this seems to be the reason), the TV doesn't start with those problems I mentioned earlier (I tried many games on the PS3 and I could not replicate the problem).

In summary, the only variable that creates this problem, is color banding, present on every game on the Switch!!

Do you know how this could be fixed? My guess is that if we somehow could get rid of color banding alltogether in the Switch color output, we could in theory fix my problem and I guess many people's problems on their TV's and their Switch's.

Thank you so much Averne! Any help would be apreciated.
Color banding isn't something you can fix after the fact, unless you somehow run a filtering shader on the whole frame (and even then things will not be perfect). In the case of SM3DAS, I think it was determined to be caused by an emulation inaccuracy from Nintendo.
Your screen issue is probably separate. Some LCD technologies have different properties, and can lead to various artifacts. For instance a VA monitor will typically behave badly with high contrast. Try to play with monitor settings or even sliders in Fizeau, but there's really nothing I can do, sorry. I can't even implement contrast control due to the way things work.
 

nashismo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Messages
503
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Home sweet Home (Mi casita)
XP
1,118
Country
Chile
Color banding isn't something you can fix after the fact, unless you somehow run a filtering shader on the whole frame (and even then things will not be perfect). In the case of SM3DAS, I think it was determined to be caused by an emulation inaccuracy from Nintendo.
Your screen issue is probably separate. Some LCD technologies have different properties, and can lead to various artifacts. For instance a VA monitor will typically behave badly with high contrast. Try to play with monitor settings or even sliders in Fizeau, but there's really nothing I can do, sorry. I can't even implement contrast control due to the way things work.

Ok. I have heard it has something to do with "deep color" option or lack of it on Switch and also bitrate (8 vs 10, etc) and compression. All I know is that on the PS3 and any other device, I don't have those problems on that same TV.

Thank you Averne, if you have any other thoughts, do share. Thank you again.
 

sean222

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2007
Messages
65
Trophies
0
XP
426
Country
Canada
Has anyone with an OLED managed to use this on an OG switch, and match the colors to the oled screen?

a settings list would be cool

I don't have the settings because I don't have my OG Switch anymore, but yes, you can tweak the OG Switch with this to get amazing colours, the luminance and saturation were key for me.

I almost didn't move to the OLED model because Fizeau made the OG Switch so awesome :D
 

Satfoun

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 26, 2021
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
59
Country
Lebanon
Greetings, i decided to download this because when i play on my monitor my eyes don't hurt, but on handheld it does.
So my question is how can i make it affect only Handheld and not docked ?
I don't use Overlay. I am assuming if it do not touch profiel 2 for the docked nothing would change ?
Or should i every time apply when i play and handheld, and untick it when i play docked ?
Thank you very much
Best Regards
 

averne

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
137
Trophies
0
XP
994
Country
France
Greetings, i decided to download this because when i play on my monitor my eyes don't hurt, but on handheld it does.
So my question is how can i make it affect only Handheld and not docked ?
I don't use Overlay. I am assuming if it do not touch profiel 2 for the docked nothing would change ?
Or should i every time apply when i play and handheld, and untick it when i play docked ?
Thank you very much
Best Regards
If you don't do anything with your docked profile, nothing will happen.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Spring_Spring @ Spring_Spring: and post it uwu