Fixing a Bricked Wii From the HBC???

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by lettuce, Oct 4, 2009.

Oct 4, 2009
  1. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok heres what happened, updated my Wii (with Wiikey v1) from 3.1E to 4.2E using the guide on this forum, found out that because i had a Wiikey fitted that i couldnt play NTSC games anymore, so i stupidly decided to downgrade my FW using the ULTIMSTE System Menu 4.1 guide on here by assassda, i managed to downgrade to 3.2E fine and then upgarde to 4.1 using Waninkoko's update prog. When i restarted my Wii i got a black screen, with my TV display the 'No Signal' message. Now i have stupidly deleted my NAND.bin file from bootmii for this wii, i can get into the HBC through BootMii, is there anyway i can fix my Wii through a app on the HBC???
     
  2. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    All you needed to do was trucha sign IOS70 when you were on 4.2.

    You'd probably need to install some IOSes from bootmii, but I have no idea what ones...
     
  3. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it usual that i should be able to get into the HBC, from a completely bricked Wii though?? Could/Should i run the cIOS downgrader, and downgrade to 3.0E or something would i then be able to get to the system menu??
     
  4. diazao

    Newcomer diazao Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Galicia
    Country:
    Spain
    You can restore it by downgrading or by another wii's NAND backup. [​IMG]
     
  5. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    the black screen is probably caused by a stubbed IOS60 could try dop-ios and press - button to install an old version of IOS60 which is not stubbed
     
  6. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well i cant locate my NAND file, but luckly i was able to install bootmii on to boot2 of the Wii, before i attempted any updates, which i guess is my saving grace. So i dont want to downgrade back to an early FW, say 3.1E before i do anything, you think i should just place DOP-IOS v8 in the apps folder and install an older version of ISO60 and that will fix it, i dont want to take any chances, would just like to get it back to a fresh 3.1E first i guees. Will anything i do now stop me from getting into the HBC again, as if this happens im completely screw. Any step by step guide here guys would be much appreciated.

    EDIT: by the way i cannot use my wiimote for some reason so am using the GC controller, what is the button on the GC pad, for '-' & '+' on the wiimote?
     
  7. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
  8. diazao

    Newcomer diazao Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Galicia
    Country:
    Spain
    I think it's the Z button
     
  9. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which i iso do i need to use for loading other iso, in dop-iso, iso60??
     
  10. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    try using IOS250 if you've got one cause it's a backup of your CIOS249
     
  11. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    ISO is not IOS...An ISO is an image of a CD/DVD. An IOS is a firmware component.

    Anyway, do what was said above - Use IOS250 to run DOP-IOS, Install IOS60. When you get the thing unbricked, make a new NAND dump for it.
     
  12. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah i used the NUSD method, downloaded ISO60 version 6174 and installed using wadmanger, all is working fine now. Is there a program about that will bascially put the wii back to factory defaukts, just as if the Wii is brand new??
     

Share This Page