fix #002 errors in latest Wii games that uses IOS5x

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by QLeap, Dec 17, 2008.

Dec 17, 2008
  1. QLeap
    OP

    Newcomer QLeap Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Recently Nintendo releases Wii games have shown #002 error if you are launching from GeckoOS.

    Here is the fix:

    change following pattern in main.dol (DonkeyKong Junglebeat JP),

    2C 00 00 00 40 82 02 14 3C 60 80 00
    to
    2C 00 00 00 48 00 02 14 3C 60 80 00

    (Sorry, I fixed too many 00s. 2C 00 00 00 is right)

    then you can launch DonkeyKong JungleBeat JP from your GeckoOS. (Actually I tested this with GeckoOS 1.7b mod04 + cIOS based on IOS37 that supports Korean Discs)

    the patch above is bypassing new check routine (#002) of OSInit of Wii soft.

    Possibly this can patch NFS undocover as well. but I think the main excutable is not main.dol for this case. there are dol and elf file in the disc file system.

    Good Luck!
     


  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Thank you very much.

    @Everybody:
    You can use my toy to patch the main.dol on the fly, there is no need to not to use a untouched 1:1 copy.

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=122...p;#entry1626756

    @Backup launcher people and NFS:
    Please test my dcIOS55 from my multi_cios_installer with my toy and this patch. Be aware this cIOS does not have trucha support, so modifying the .iso and burn it, will not work. You can get the installer here:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=120912

    @QLeap:
    Does DonkeyKong Junglebeat require IOS37 or IOS55? You can get this information with wiidiscinfo or SoftChip. Have you seen my multi_cios_installer? It takes IOS55 and adds the dip from IOS36 or IOS37 to it, if you want and if you are capable to improve the installer, please do.

    PS: I can't test this myself, i have none of the 002 games.
     
  3. QLeap
    OP

    Newcomer QLeap Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    DonkeyKong uses IOS53. but IOS37 seems fine so far. I played this game around with GeckoOS1.7b mod04 with cIOS based on IOS37 but no problem.

    Sorry I haven't seen yours yet. I'm just interested in enable all games launching from GeckoOS. [​IMG]
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Why GeckoOS? Hmm, take a look at my toy, it can load the main.dol from sd instead of the disc, it's based on SoftChip. The multi_cios_installer allows you to install cIOS36, cIOS37 and dcIOS55. cIOS36 from WiiGator, cIOS37 with rev7 dip patch and your patches (for trucha) except for the korean disc support and dcIOS55, just IOS55 with IOS36 or IOS37 rev7 dip. Oh, and you can select where to install, i think this is very handy if you handle multiple cIOS. SoftChip can change the IOS used during runtime(inside the menu of SoftChip).
     
  5. blueyuk

    Newcomer blueyuk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom


    sorry for the noob question,but how do you patch main.dol??many thanks
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If you only get this information, open the main.dol in a hexeditor, search for the pattern and change it.
     
  7. blueyuk

    Newcomer blueyuk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for the reply..ive opened nfsu main.dol in winhex, what line do i need to change please??also how do you put patched main.dol back into the iso
     
  8. ppc_gba

    Member ppc_gba GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    just tested this and it appears to not be working. now it just freezes on a green screen. i also tried applying the error 1 fix simultaneously and it didn't help.
    edit: i think your pattern has 2 too many zeroes after the 2c. i found the pattern 2C00000040820214 at offset 51c6a8. i tested the european release of nfs:u, so someone could still try the ntsc release (probably won't work).
     
  9. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    if guess this only works for jungle beat then...
     
  10. QLeap
    OP

    Newcomer QLeap Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, you are right.

    2C 00 00 00 40 82 02 14 3C 60 80 00

    is right pattern.

    And please note there are another executable files in NFS undercover disc.

    NfsMWEuropeEnDuRelease.dol and NfsMWEuropeEnDuRelease.elf

    And these will try to load IOS55 when this is about to execute. So I think IOS Version Patcher should be applied as well for this.

    I'll check this by myself.
     
  11. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    There's probably a similar fix for undercover, but we don't know what string to edit yet.
     
  12. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Stupid question(you probably know more about backup launching than me):
    Did you patch the video mode too? You have a NTSC Wii with a PAL game, right? I thought green screen freeze is a region error. It could be that you passed the protection and then the game tries to configure the video mode.

    PS: If you patch the video mode to your region you need the system settings video mode in my toy
     
  13. ppc_gba

    Member ppc_gba GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    i tried the system settings video mode and disc setting video mode options in your softchip toy. both left me at the same green crash screen. i noticed that normally a green screen shows for 1/2 of a second before the error 002 screen. i'm also still trying to implement the patches on the fly, they seem to not be taking effect with my on the fly patcher...

    edit: i just tried patching the games video mode from pal to ntsc using generic wii patcher, but it appears to have no effect.i do wonder if we implemented an auto video mode fix in softchip if it would fix the return to wii menu crash for foreign games (pal at least possibly). somehow i doubt it but it's worth a try.
     
  14. QLeap
    OP

    Newcomer QLeap Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, here is a way to run NFS Undercover on IOS36.

    1. WBB this disc if you don't want any update.
    2. extract three files, main.dol, NfsMWEuropeEnDuRelease.dol and NfsMWEuropeEnDuRelease.elf. definitely main.dol should be patched. But not sure which one is secondary executable file.
    So I patched all three files with the above pattern.

    2C 00 00 00 40 82 02 14 3C 60 80 00

    -->

    2C 00 00 00 48 00 02 14 3C 60 80 00

    3. Optionally use wglp2 (wii game language patcher v2) if you have other region wii than PAL. (I have JP Wii so I had to patched with this.)

    4. replace original files with the patched files then fake sign it.

    5. Use Waninkoko's IOS Version patcher to change required IOS number to 36 from 55.

    6. Burn it.

    7. Play it from disc channel in system menu.

    I've tested this with my JP Wii and verified it works great.
     
  15. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can't be pestered with all the patching, i mean all the new games are going to carry this 002 problem anyway, would be nice for some permanent patch or something, or a loader which can extract and use the required IOS's aswell as bypassing the 00 errors, That's what Nuke was thinking of......iv'e messaged Nuke again, awaiting a reply.....
     
  16. blueyuk

    Newcomer blueyuk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    i cant find the pattern in win hex...is there a way to do download the patched files??also what program do i use for step 4??many thanks
     
  17. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Did you search for the corrected pattern? No the files can't be uploaded here, they contain (lol, it's just 99,999%) code from nintendo.
     
  18. ppc_gba

    Member ppc_gba GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    Qleap: ios36? you know we're trying to get it to run without a modchip right? if you have a modchip you can just install ios55 and play it unmodded.
    djdynamite: nuke's program will probably only work for people with modchips, if it extracts ios55, it's not going to magically patch it into a cios. this is to save people the hassle of manually installing ios55.

    edit: wiipower: no i don't have a modchip or i probably wouldn't be bothering with this. i haven't tried your toy on other games but it seems to be working. it's just that the current patches to main.dol are not enough to get need for speed running, it always freezes at the green screen. normally i have no problem playing pal games, even waninkoko's leaked loader worked fine with my tv.
     
  19. thawkins1

    Member thawkins1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Lots of patching. I don't want to play these 2 games that badly...........I'll just wait.
     
  20. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    First we have to figure out what's needed in order to get the game(s) working, then a noob friendly version/guide will be published by someone.
     

Share This Page