First Time CycloDS User

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by Ahmedz, Apr 19, 2008.

Apr 19, 2008

First Time CycloDS User by Ahmedz at 10:30 PM (2,533 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. Ahmedz
    OP

    Newcomer Ahmedz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Hey guys. I recently placed an order on a CycloDS Evolution and it should arrive in around 2 days and I'm gonna pick up a MicroSD 2 GB tomorrow
    Since I'm gonna be a first time user....mind letting me know what i should do first when i get it [​IMG]
     
  2. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    Go download the firmware, and then play with it [​IMG]
     
  3. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Update to latest firmware.
    Just download it from team cyclops website and copy and paste it into the root off your MicroSD card.
    Then next time you start the DS with it in it would update your CycloDS Evolution and then youre ready to put some homebrew and roms on your MicroSD
     
  4. Ahmedz
    OP

    Newcomer Ahmedz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    lol i already downloaded the update and Rominator (awesome program btw Hankchill) and i have a few games and homebrew [​IMG]
    now all i need is that microSD
     
  5. altorn

    Member altorn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    dont forget to make your custom skin if you want [​IMG]
     
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    just dont get a sandisk MicroSD

    kingston, a-data, (and some other brand I cant remember)
    are the one's you want
     
  7. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    Transcend.

    I hate my luck. I bought a Sandisk Class 2 a month ago, and a week later they had Transcend Class 6 for about 2/3 of the price.
     
  8. sphere9

    Member sphere9 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    Australia
    i have a sandisk and it works fine?

    :S
     
  9. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    I'm using SanDisk microSD 4 GB Class 2 and SanDisk 2 GB, and NEVER had any problems?! Why are everybody recommending people not to use SanDisk, it was the slow card before and it was slowing very few games on R4 and M3 Simply, but now..most of carts with SDHC compatibility doesn't have such problems (and Cyclo DS EVO is one of those carts)..
     
  10. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    Only Class 6 Memory Cards have random access speeds in the range of a Toshiba non-HC. And SanDisk cards are Class 2 (medium random access speeds, low transfer speeds) or Class 4 (low random access speeds, high transfer speeds). No Class 6 card (both random access and transfer at high speed) has been released by Sandisk. However, this only affects Castlevania POR
     
  11. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    I don't know, but I can play Portrait of Ruin without any freeze..
    I actually have a problem with one game, and only one game, and that's Tony Hawk's Downhill Jam..
     
  12. gizmo_gal

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    But be gentle inserting it that very first time. Its sensitive, and if it doesn't work right away, then just keep trying and keep an open mind, it gets better with practice.!

    Lol, feeling pervy!
     
  13. altorn

    Member altorn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    (depends on your microSD cards really, although i usually buy kingston in the first place, so im liable to not having issues with sandisk. Too bad kingston still doesnt have 8gb capacity or is hundreds of dollars cost)

    Try registering in CyclopsDS forums to show your support for the cyclops team. Actually, that is pretty much you need to do in the first few days. Next, play, pirate and plunder.
     
  14. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Aw took mine. Try NDSThemes. Best site for skins.
     
  15. wilddenim

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    LMAO!! [​IMG]
     
  16. Ahmedz
    OP

    Newcomer Ahmedz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Well my CycloDS finally arrived and I picked up a cheap microSD 2GB card. the card's manufacturer is called twinmos....somethin rly weird [​IMG]
    anyway i tried out a few games (including Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin) and haven't suffered any slow downs, crashes, etc..... [​IMG]
     
  17. Sticks

    Member Sticks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    Australia
    Most likely a rebranded Toshiba. There are a TON of rebranded cards floating around...
     
  18. SleepingDragon

    Member SleepingDragon GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    P3X-719
    Country:
    United States
    well, sounds like you're all set. You'll enjoy that cyclo and shouldn't have any problems. good luck
     

Share This Page