Firefox and Vista

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by xcalibur, Jun 27, 2007.

Jun 27, 2007

Firefox and Vista by xcalibur at 7:38 PM (838 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Firefox is a great browser and i hate it that lately, since i switched over to vista ultimate, thats its been bugging up on me for no apparent reason. I hate it, Im just on a site reading a page and it just suddenly "stops woking". Apperently you cant wait for the program to respond, like you have the option to do in other programs when they freeze up on you. NOOOOO
    Vista just turns it off with no other option.
    Luckily i Tab mix plus and its got an excellent session manager.
    I just seem to be getting so frustrated and im wondering if anyone else is experiencing the same as me
     
  2. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't know all the bugs exactly. But firefox isn't right keen on Vista. You will have to use another browser until they fix it.
     
  3. Gayle

    Newcomer Gayle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    That's the Vista experience. Enjoy your DRM.
     
  4. GeekShadow

    Member GeekShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Location:
    France/Vendée (85)
    Country:
    France
    You should try Firefox Portable version
     
  5. ZeWarriorReturnz

    Banned ZeWarriorReturnz Banned

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    239
    Country:
    United States
    Firefox works fine on my Fathers Home Premium Vista Laptop..
     
  6. sanghoku

    Member sanghoku GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Belgium
    works flawless here too (home prem)
     
  7. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Firefox started to bug up recently on my Vista laptop. Although Opera was far worse on it, crashing left right and center from almost any action.
     
  8. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've found that it works better in Vista (ultimate) than XP, though in both I can't stream WMVs without the IE tab plugin [​IMG]. Plus under XP it crashes often for no reason, but hasn't done it much recently, only randomly with IE tab and streaming videos.
    It just doesn't see WM11 as being installed.
     
  9. imyourxpan

    Member imyourxpan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    i've had a problem with my internet in general. randomly after about 24 hours of having my computer on, no websites will work. it says there is no connection, but i can go on AIM and other messengers, but websites i can't and it's really annoying. i have to restart my computer each time.
     
  10. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    I've had NO problems with any internet apps in Ultimate x64, I even got the Comodo beta firewall for Vista
     
  11. hanman

    Member hanman I'm a pretty lucky guy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Galbadia Garden
    Country:
    United States
    firefox works fine with me on vista business, but at first i was having problems with a few plugins causing random crashes. tab mix plus was one, i think.
     
  12. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So i should try and disable some plugins to see what might be causing crashes?
    seems simple enough....though i dont really want to give up tab mix plus.

    Does anyone have an issue with streaming video's from firefox?
    Im just on youtube watching a vid, and because my internet is so slow, i leave it to buffer while i pause the vid. When i come back to it it looks like its completely finished but its not. It just plays to a certain spot and pretends as if the video fiished. It even gives me those little previews for other vids
     
  13. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    It works fine on my Ultimate. Make sure you have the latest version.
     
  14. Mucuna

    Member Mucuna GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    363
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Firefox seems to work fine in my gf's computer, with home premium vista, too.

    But I hated Vista.;-)
     
  15. pikachucrackpipe

    Member pikachucrackpipe President

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,189
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    you should try ubuntu with firefox
     

Share This Page