Firefox and GBAtemp.

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by Cloak519, Feb 3, 2011.

Feb 3, 2011

Firefox and GBAtemp. by Cloak519 at 7:44 PM (1,032 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Cloak519
    OP

    Member Cloak519 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    Solved! Click here.
    - - -
    Hey;
    There's already a similar topic to this but it's not getting much attention and I think the poster solved the problem somehow.
    I'm using Firefox 3.6.13 and I can't log in to GBAtemp. I get redirected to the main page without being signed in.
    Also, all smilies show up as "(IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)" ("biggrin.gif" replaced with the filename of each individual smiley).
    I've tried disabling all add-ons and the result is still the same.
    I can't change skins without being signed in and I can't log in so not much I can do there either.
    Any help appreciated;
    CA5.
     
  2. The Pi

    Member The Pi Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ctrl+F5 if that doesn't work try clearing your cookies.
     
  3. Cloak519
    OP

    Member Cloak519 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    Tried 'em, still the same. Thanks anyways.
    On a slightly unrelated note - why didn't you reply to my PM? I know how to make a Pi very unhappy.
     
  4. The Pi

    Member The Pi Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Went to reply straight after posting that post [​IMG]

    Uninstalling and reinstalling should fix it (even if talking a good bit of time)
     
  5. Cloak519
    OP

    Member Cloak519 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    Can't be doing that [​IMG] I'll lose all of my stuff... I like how it looks and everything now. I'll just wait for an update I guess.
    Thanks anyway, Pi!
     
  6. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    I'm using Firefox 3.6.13 myself and have no issues at all with GBAtemp when it comes to those things.
     
  7. Cloak519
    OP

    Member Cloak519 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    Must be a setting or some such thing that me and that other guy have in common that's causing the issues, then. Weird.
     
  8. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe it's a plugin you have installed - got a list of them ???
    We MIGHT be able to figure out if one of them is causing a problem

    My current plugins
     
  9. Cloak519
    OP

    Member Cloak519 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    Thanks for the reply CannonFoddr.
    Plugins I have installed are:

    4chan
    Adblock Plus
    ColorZilla
    Download Statusbar
    DownloadHelper
    Firebug
    Greasemonkey
    ImageHost Grabber
    Java Console
    MeasureIt
    Save Images
    Tamper Data
    Tempomail
    TinEye Reverse Image Search


    I've tried disabling all of them but uninstalling none of them.
    By comparing our lists I think it's safe to assume that the ones in green are not causing the problem.
    Tried Firefox (Safe Mode) and the problem is still there... does this rule out add-ons?
     
  10. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry didn't read your first post right - didn't see you already disabled your plugins.... still can't see anything wrong there though

    It DOES seem as though you may have 2 different problems
    1) unable to login
    2) Smileys not showing correctly

    I'm guessing you have no problems on other sites for graphics etc... & that you can log in fine into any other forums etc OK

    Can you log in using IE ?? - or can't you log in with ANY browser

    If it's just firefox that won't allow log-in - you could try reading through this post. It offers some suggestion to try & fix it (most seem to be 'cookie' related)
     
  11. Cloak519
    OP

    Member Cloak519 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    I can log into every other site fine... but this is the only IPB I use.
    No problems on any other site for graphics.
    Yup IE is fine and so is Mobile Safari on my iPod.
    Thanks for the link... I tried everything suggested on there and still no luck.
    This one has me puzzled haha [​IMG].
     
  12. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Try installing the Firefox 4 beta.

    3.6 will still be installed and it uses all the settings and info you had for 3.6
     
  13. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,894
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Assuming you use Vista or Windows 7, go into your start menu, go to Mozilla Firefox, right-click Mozilla Firefox (Safe Mode), select Run as administrator, and check every box except Delete all bookmarks and Restore default search engines. Make changes and restart. Check and see if the problem has been resolved. If it has, re-enable one add-on at a time, making sure the problem does not return.
     
  14. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,030
    the problem you describe seems to be related to cookies.
    ensure your cookies are enabled and your security settings not too strict...
     
  15. Cloak519
    OP

    Member Cloak519 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    We have a winrar!
    Thank you so much... Firefox is no longer my enemy. I guess running safe mode as an admin did something awesome.
    Thanks again [​IMG].
    Also, thanks to Costello and TehSkull for the suggestions [​IMG].
    - - -
    EDIT to explain a little better: Problem was that I'd changed general.useragent.extra.firefox through about:config to 'www.google.com' in order to stop that Google Instant crap. Instead of resetting all user preferences, it would be easier to change it to 'Firefox' so that Google Instant doesn't bother you while still being able to log in to GBAtemp.
     

Share This Page