Firefox 8 takes a new approach to bloatware.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Rydian, Nov 11, 2011.

Nov 11, 2011
  1. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    http://blog.mozilla.com/addons/2011/08/11/strengthening-user-control-of-add-ons/

    Damn straight. Firefox was getting to the point that IE was, where every program will install a new toolbar or change your search shit without your specific permission.

    Just another platform hitting the pitfalls of getting too mainstream (I'm looking at you, OSX).
     
    4 people like this.


  2. Flame

    Member Flame Me > You

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,412
    Country:
    Firefox just lost that thing, I've moved on to chrome.
     
    3 people like this.
  3. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's cool and finally, I went on my mums computer the other day, she had about 6 toolbars, not even joking.
     
    2 people like this.
  4. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've seen worse. Much worse.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. Hop2089

    Member Hop2089 Cute>Hot

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,810
    Country:
    United States
    I've seen 10-15 toolbars on my friend's computer yuck, those things can carry spyware or malware.
     
  6. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    so this will fix the search things?
    because when i type something in the navigation bar in the first place it go to google but now it goose to f*cking babylon :@
    and i already delete there software but its still there
    is this version gonna destroy it?
    so yes then i will download and install it directly when available
     
  7. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Just follow this & it will return back to using good old google .
     
  8. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    YES THANK YOU VERY MUCH :D
     
  9. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    I've seen one where it took half of a 640x480 monitor. Half of them were smiley toolbars. It's about time some kind of web browser took an approach to third-party installers. Besides Google.
     
  10. xxNathanxx

    Member xxNathanxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Tonga
    The only decent browser nowadays is Opera. All other recent browsers are just copies of one another. Where Firefox and IE used to look extremely different a couple of years ago, they're now pretty much indistinguishable to the untrained eye.
     
  11. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's a reason for that. FF grew so popular that nobody wanted to use IE anymore. Microsoft had to do something to try and win back users, so they started taking a few leaves from FF and revamping the UI. Now everyone is doing it - taking the successes of other browsers (like the speed of Chrome) and trying to integrate it into their own browsers.

    That said, I don't like Opera. It feels too..... Sterile. Like Apple. FF has their personas, Chrome has better functionality, Safari is just plain simple and basic, IE I will never go back to ever, and Opera... I just don't like it.
     
  12. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    The "good" old days.
     
    6 people like this.
  13. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Wow nearly forgot about Bonzi . He was a useless annoying fun thing to have around :P .
     
  14. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Given the rise of netbooks and such rearranging your program to make the best use of screen space is an obvious move. Many major programs actually had to rearrange their UI to fit in a usable manner on low-resolution screens because of it.

    So much wasted space it's not even funny.
     
  15. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Honestly, I never ever had any application/add-on ask me for a toolbar install, and never saw one in FF 7-and-below. Only application that asked it was Skype after MS took it over, which I of course declined. FF is still my favourite browser, loving the customizability, but sometimes it just hangs or stops working for a few seconds, pretty damn annoying.
     
  16. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I installed Opera again recently after not having used it for years, and it is a lot like Chrome in my opinion. Certainly a lot closer to it than to older versions of Opera.
     
  17. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    For some reason Firefox 7 is broken for me. After browsing sites for a while, theres some kind of timeout problem that occurs: every site, page, data/ajax element that I try to load just times out for no reason.
    So I've been forced to switch to Chrome :( which I hate because addon support is partial. Chrome's "adblock plus" addon sucks big time. Lazarus is implemented partially. etc.
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    This used to be my browser when I was like what? 5? I was obsessed with toolbars for some reason.
     
    1 person likes this.
  19. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    I also have both (Chrome and Opera) installed, but I don't really see much of a resemblance. O-O

    Although I might be biased because I'm also an Opera user. Maybe you could clarify on the similarities?
     
  20. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I remember when Norton forcefully installed itself as a toolbar into Firefox, it never asked, I'd try to remove it, but it'd re-install itself.
    Thank god GBAtemp pointed me in the right direction with good anti-virus software after I actually got a virus, and Norton was revealed to be the resource-hogging placebo that it was.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page