Firefox 3.0rc1

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by emirof, May 20, 2008.

May 20, 2008

Firefox 3.0rc1 by emirof at 12:04 AM (6,492 Views / 0 Likes) 56 replies

  1. emirof
    OP

    Member emirof GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Sweden
    I think this deserves a new topic .. Since I didn't find any about this already posted and it was good news to me when I heard about it.

    You can download it here
     


  2. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Except anyone who cares already knows.
     
  3. jgu1994

    Member jgu1994 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Must you be that much of an asshole urza. It was a reminder to those who didn't know. Not everyone is like you >.>
     
  4. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Because I'm sure the people who don't know are likely to be regular online dwellers, who would see it here.

    Logic.
     
  5. jgu1994

    Member jgu1994 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Just because you're sure, doesn't mean you're right.
     
  6. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i'm going to wait for the final version before i download version 3 a lot of ad ons still don't work with version 3 yet.
     
  7. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    I've found that only a handful are actually incompatible. You just need the Nightly Tester Tools to force the extension to install.
     
  8. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hmm, i will still wait for the final though it's good to know about the ad ons installer though.
     
  9. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    actually, i cared and didn't no about this. (assuming this update IS newer than beta 5?)
     
  10. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Firefox 3 is definitely a big improvement over Firefox 2. Also with the current benchmarks that has been done, and also from personal benchmarks I have made, Firefox 3 beats the other current browsers on the market in terms of speed and the memory foot print. Though of course this holds true with minimal extensions, while being nice, extensions do slightly increase the memory usage of Firefox.

    Over all, Firefox is a well balanced and polished browser suitable for just about anyone. Its certainly a leap above Internet Explorer.

    And no, I'm not a Firefox fanboy, I actually switched over from Opera 9.5 when Firefox made a scene. I've been using the nightly builds of Firefox 3 since the late alpha stages and I'm quite impressed with the changes and development of it.

    So from someone who has roughly 10 browsers on his PC for development and web design purposes, I recommend Firefox 3.

    At any rate, for those who are interested, I'll post an incomplete change log of all the changes since Firefox 2. Some of them simply makes me go Wow and drool as the oppurtunity to play with some f the new goodies added.

    Firefox 3 Changelog
     
  11. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    some cool additions, but i still need my ad ons like adblock plus, google toolbar, currency converter, themes, and other misc ad ons, also it seems they have changed some of the buttons around too, why would the home button be put in the bookmarks section? should be kept simple imo.
     
  12. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    Ad-Block Plus works fine on RC1. Use Google for currency conversion (just search "$100 in [insert Pound symbol here I'm too lazy to find]") The home button is were it's always been, next to the favicon. I'll try that thing Urza suggested to see if any themes will work, I don't like the default one.


    EDIT: I can't even install the Nightly Tester Tools. Ugh.
     
  13. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    All the addons you listed work with Fiefox 3, either natively or you can use Me. Tach's Toolkit or the Nightly Tester Tools extension to install them. From testing extensions, I found a majority of Firefox 2 extensions work without any problems in Firefox 3. Only a handful of them were unusable on Firefox 3.

    Also I believe skins made for Firefox 2 won't work on Firefox 3 but there are a nice selection of Firefox 3 skins to choose from.

    Heres what I currently have:
    Generated: Mon May 19 2008 20:13:07 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time)
    User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9pre) Gecko/2008051706 Minefield/3.0pre
    Build ID: 2008051706

    Enabled Extensions: [19]
    - Adblock Plus 0.7.5.4 - {d10d0bf8-f5b5-c8b4-a8b2-2b9879e08c5d}
    - Adblock Plus: Element Hiding Helper 1.0.4 - elemhidehelper@adblockplus.org
    - AI Roboform Toolbar for Firefox 6.9.89 - {22119944-ED35-4ab1-910B-E619EA06A115}
    - ConsoleĀ² 0.3.9.2 - {1280606b-2510-4fe0-97ef-9b5a22eafe80}
    - CustomizeGoogle 0.72 - {fce36c1e-58d8-498a-b2a5-66ad1cedebbb}
    - CuteMenus - Crystal SVG 1.9.2 - {63df8e21-711c-4074-a257-b065cadc28d8}
    - DOM Inspector 2.0.0 - inspector@mozilla.org
    - Download Statusbar 0.9.6.1 - {D4DD63FA-01E4-46a7-B6B1-EDAB7D6AD389}
    - DownThemAll! 1.0.1 - {DDC359D1-844A-42a7-9AA1-88A850A938A8}
    - FlashGot 0.9.9 - {19503e42-ca3c-4c27-b1e2-9cdb2170ee34}
    - Linkification 1.3.3 - {35106bca-6c78-48c7-ac28-56df30b51d2a}
    - Morning Coffee 1.3 - morningCoffee@shaneliesegang
    - MR Tech Toolkit 6.0a29 - {9669CC8F-B388-42FE-86F4-CB5E7F5A8BDC}
    - PhishTank SiteChecker 4.2.2 - {8bc5b5eb-0ec4-46ed-a024-ace8a3032888}
    - ScrapBook 1.3.3.3 - {53A03D43-5363-4669-8190-99061B2DEBA5}
    - SQLite Manager 0.2.40 - SQLiteManager@mrinalkant.blogspot.com
    - Stylish 0.5.7 - {46551EC9-40F0-4e47-8E18-8E5CF550CFB8}
    - Tab Mix Plus 0.3.6.1.080416 - {dc572301-7619-498c-a57d-39143191b318}
    - Update Channel Selector 1.0.3 - updatechannel@blueprintit.co.uk
     
  14. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    It's still a beta, I'll pass. [​IMG]
     
  15. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    By definition its no longer in beta, genius.
     
  16. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Its not a beta, its a RC, also known as a Release Candidate. Theres a difference you know. Beta means theres still work to do, its stable for the most part but still buggy while Release Candidates are as their name implies, they are just about good to go. RCs are stable, mostly bug free and feature complete, if all goes well, the RC goes gold and becomes the next stable version of Firefox, if not, they fix up the minor bugs people find,, release another RC and wait to see if anyone else runs into some overlooked bug, if not, it goes gold.

    Basicly a release candidate is just about as good as a stable release. No new features will be added, no new additions or changes will be made, just polishing it up for the final release.
     
  17. matriculated

    Member matriculated GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    Canada
    This release is extremely unstable on my office Mac (still on Tiger there). I'm going to have to try removing my profile and starting from scratch. Works great on my Macbook/Leopard and my Ubuntu box.

    Hey, Urza! Instead of beating up the kids on gbatemp, how about getting your ass in the "name the movie thread" - you're holding the game up.
     
  18. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    In Firefox's case, beta 5 was as good as a stable release [​IMG]
     
  19. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Whats exactly the point of this? Is there something special? Otherwise, I'm going to stick to my faithful Firefox.
     
  20. TeenDev

    Member TeenDev GBAtemp's Original Hipster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    633
    Country:
    United States
    I liked Beta 5 a lot and I upgraded to 3.0 RC1. its good but not a lot of my extensions work. i guess that's the only downside right now.
     

Share This Page