Finding out what modchip I have

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by wayt, Jan 31, 2008.

Jan 31, 2008

Finding out what modchip I have by wayt at 5:58 PM (836 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. wayt
    OP

    Newcomer wayt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    I've read the topic about which modchip does what, and i am almost certain I have a wiikey, but i need confirmation. I bought this wii from china, so its a ntsc-j wii, it was pre-modded, and i do not know what modchip it is. I don't want to open up my wii fearing mistakes that I will make and the absence of tools that I have in order to open it. there are probably threads about this already, but search is disabled =(

    I remember asking the person who sold it to me if i can play NTSC-U games and she said that it can. She also said that it is able to play any ntsc game. Is mine a wiikey? How do I check without opening it?
     
  2. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Theres no really good way to find out.
    Try to put in the WiiKey update disc if it works then its a WiiKey.
    If it has a switch on it its a CycloWiz V2
     
  3. wayt
    OP

    Newcomer wayt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    i heard somewhere if you put the update disc and you don't have a wii key it will mess up.. and where would i see the switch?
     
  4. beano311

    Newcomer beano311 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Country:
    United States
    No way to tell without bricking your Wii or opening it (that I know of). Safest way is to 1) open it or 2) ask the person who sold it to you.
     
  5. wayt
    OP

    Newcomer wayt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    alright thanks
     
  6. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    It's not hard to open, just make sure you remember where the screws go when it goes back together and also don't drop any screws inside that u might not be able to fish out and you'll be fine.
     
  7. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the wlip site has a nice video showing how to open your wii
     
  8. wayt
    OP

    Newcomer wayt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    ugh, i don't have the tiny screw driver, and the tri-screwdriver either. I guess im just gonna have to wait until i have a copy of SSBB and pop it in and see what it does. someone should make some software to find this out -_____-"



    EDIT: If I only put in the wii key update, does it tell me what version i have therefore confirming that I have a wii key? If i don't can't I just not update and my wii would not be bricked?
    Can someone answer me, if i put in the wiikey update disc, and i don't have a wiikey, what would happen?
     
  9. Xandu

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    Well I don't have a Wiikey and I tried the update, it just returns "update failed". Nothing happens to the Wii or the chip.
    I don't know what chip I have either :S.
     

Share This Page