finally returning to psp realm.. but now i find myself so lost

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by dlxowhd, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. dlxowhd
    OP

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    i have a launch day phat psp 1000.
    i hacked it when the hack first came out and i was always up-to-date as far as psp hacking was concerned.
    but then i bought xbox360 and wii and i got into hacking them...
    so i didn't have chance or time to play with my psp for like 1 or 2 years i think...
    i even forgot what firmware my psp has... i just checked now and looks like it has 5.00 m33-6.

    so.. what would you recommend me to do?
    can i still play all the latest games? (i think not.. my cfw must be really outdated by now)..
    if you were in my situation, what would you do?
    what cool homebrews came out lately?
     
  2. Ace Overclocked

    Member Ace Overclocked My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,106
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    Italy
    you can get a prome firmware and your cfw is not outdated
    for the prome check the softmod thread in the last spoiler
    and for homebrew check the homebrew essentials thread
     
  3. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Download 5.50 GEN-D3 installer, run it and update. Then run 5.50 Prometheus-4 updater, and you will be able to play all the newest games.

    As far as Homebrews go, check out Wagic. it is an amazing Homebrew. also, if you like Retro games, check out the latest builds of emus for the PSP they have all been updated to run just about everything fullspeed nowadays.
     
  4. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did they get the N64 emu running fullspeed too?
     
  5. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
  6. dlxowhd
    OP

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    so gen-d3 is like the new m33?
    why did they change the name? like m33-7, m33-8 and so on.. then it won't be so confusing..
    anyway.. so only reason for me to update my psp to gen-d3 is to play the latest games, right? no other significant changes/improvements?
     
  7. felixsrg

    Member felixsrg 3DS Rulz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Vale Village
    Country:
    Colombia
    gen and m33 are different, they both has their advantages and disadvantages, but personally I prefer m33 because it can load the same games as gen with prometheus-4, plus m33 has 1.50 homebrew compatibility.

    It is best for you to stay in 5.00 m33-6 but then install prometheus-4 over it and you can play the latest games, no need to update to 5.50 gen-d3.
     
  8. dlxowhd
    OP

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    oh really?
    then why do people update to gen-d3 despite losing 1.50 homebrew compatibility?
     
  9. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,653
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    i prefer gen d3 but i haven't touched my psp in months. probably should sell it but then id want one again!

    i got gen d3 and prometheus-4 like others have said, but its what you prefer.
     
  10. felixsrg

    Member felixsrg 3DS Rulz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Vale Village
    Country:
    Colombia
    well I can't really answer you that, but I think is because gen-d3 is the "latest". But as I said early the newest thing is not always the best.

    I used both versions, but the m33 is the one that suplies all my needs.
     
  11. dlxowhd
    OP

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    ok so how do i install prometheus-4 over m33-6?
    i read the sticky and it's telling me how to update to gen-d3.
     
  12. felixsrg

    Member felixsrg 3DS Rulz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Vale Village
    Country:
    Colombia
    Here's the prometheus-4 installer for 5.00 m33-6: Download

    Just copy to your MS, load from XMB, follow instructions and then enjoy the latest games.
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You update to gen D3, THEN run the prometheus installer.
     
  14. dlxowhd
    OP

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    what?
    that guy just told me to stick with m33-6.
     
  15. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There were generally 3 releases of Prometheus firmware updates...

    One to go over GEN D3
    One to flash the various components into M33-6
    And the last for the 5.03 CFW's

    You're getting told two different ways to achieve pretty much the same result.
     
  16. dlxowhd
    OP

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    so if i understand correctly, installing it on m33-6 is the best way because i can play the latest games and still keep the 1.50 hb compatibility?
     
  17. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope. If you want to stay on M33 the best way is to get Pre-patched games or just patch them yourself with ISO Tool. Those flashed components may well mess up the standard M33 install.
     
  18. dlxowhd
    OP

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    can you tell me how to patch them myself with iso tool?
     
  19. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's simple....

    Get the latest ISO Tool and make sure you have the ME_631 files in the appropriate folder....
    Have the game you want to patch in your ISO folder.
    Run ISO Tool.
    Choose the ISO you want to Decrypt/Patch
    Select Eboot Decrypt from the menu..if you have the original ISO files stored on your PC you don't need a backup of the original eboot.
    Then when it asks if you want to version patch you opt for yes
    Pick the Prometheus Patch you want

    It's realistically about 5 or 6 button pushes....
     

Share This Page