Finally! A new EFA update :-D

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by chazmann, Jun 5, 2006.

Jun 5, 2006

Finally! A new EFA update :-D by chazmann at 5:01 PM (1,705 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. chazmann
    OP

    Newcomer chazmann Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Tomarrow, there will be an update for EFA carts which will allow for compatibility with nds roms 0001-0434. Looks like I'm going to finally be able to play the new mario brothers [​IMG]

    Just in time for the ds lite too. What a week for the ds.
     
  2. Sir Spanky

    Member Sir Spanky GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Awesome news! Lucky I was checking out this forum as I never check the EFA forum, it is too slow and never updated.

    I was just considering dumping the cart so I could play Animal Crossing/Mario Bros etc, but this means I can save the money [​IMG]

    Spanky
     
  3. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Um... you know that the WRG Prepatched for GBA carts version seemed to work perfectly on EFA right? Anyways this is GREAT news for me because I have an EFA cart sitting next to my M3. Another cart with good ds compatibility doesn't bother me at all. [​IMG]
     
  4. Deaddy

    Member Deaddy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    568
    Country:
    Canada
    I would still like to know if you can use the Passcard 2 or Passcard 3 with EFA.
     
  5. Golds

    Member Golds Old Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United States
    wrg nsmb froze on my efa linker 512 on the first world about half way through. (everytime)
    luckly i had it reserved and bought it.. cause it super fun.
     
  6. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't think the Passcard 2 works with it (could be wrong) but I would assume Passcard 3 would.
     
  7. Deaddy

    Member Deaddy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    568
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh yeah, supposedly passcard 3 works without the dat file or whatever it was. And I think that was the problem with EFA somehow...

    When's the Passcard 3 gonna be out?
     
  8. chazmann
    OP

    Newcomer chazmann Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States

    Woah, didnt know that. Do I leave the .nds.gba extension on there? Or should I leave it as .nds?
     
  9. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Cool, maybe they got Pokemon Dash and Ultimate Spidey working? [​IMG]?
     
  10. chazmann
    OP

    Newcomer chazmann Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone know how to get the wga patched version of mario brothers to work on the efa cart? I've tried everything. I guess I can wait for the update.
     
  11. butters

    Newcomer butters Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Norway
    It's out!
    Animal crossing seems to work, it saved without problems. Havent tried wfc yet.
    Tetris DS worked and connected to wfc, played one game (and won it) but I got dual black screens on disconnect from wfc.
    Hope that M&L PiT will save, will try that later.
    Looks like its going to be a great summer, have my final exam in one hour and then.. some gaming [​IMG]
     
  12. Hanafuda

    Member Hanafuda GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,587
    Country:
    United States
    so, will any usual passme2 device work with EFA? I only need it long enough to run flashme, and then keep it around just in case, or if I get a DSL and need to flash it. My guess would be that anything needed on the cart for the passme2 and flashme should be flashed without loader and all should work ok, but I haven't looked into this at all yet so I'm not sure. I've only got a 256mbit cart but my DS cart plans got delayed so I'm stuck with buying a passme2 of some kind and running the games that will fit in 256mbit. From what I've seen, there's still plenty I can enjoy until I get a more DS oriented cart.
     
  13. spectral

    spectral Newbie

    Now lets hope they'll finally get round to updating the EFAII. Their support for that card is terrible, they basically released it and then completely abandoned it while at the same time constantly tweaking the original EFA.
     
  14. ultim

    Member ultim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can i use efa with datel media launcher?
     
  15. Cliffius

    Newcomer Cliffius Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Japan
    I know this thread is a little dated, but how do I go about adding a .nds file to the EFA? I loaded it up as is, but it didn't work. Do I need to flash it to work?
     
  16. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    First, whats your setup? Things you need:
    NDS (most important to playing DS games)
    Flash card (EFA in your case)
    Pass Card X with proper settings (if your DS is flashed, then you dont need this)
    Latest loader for the EFA Linker

    Oh yeah, and appropriate rom to fit on the card. When loading the rom with the prog, just make sure to change the drop-down for filetype so you can see the .NDS files. The EFA.cc forums have more info about rom compatibility and the dreaded faults of save type/size...

    Note: just going from memory here, my friend has had my EFA-Linker since I convinced him to get a DSL [​IMG]
     
  17. Cliffius

    Newcomer Cliffius Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Japan
    i have an nds, the efa1, and the latest loader.

    i guess i was missing the passcard3, thanks!
     
  18. chadders

    Member chadders GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] is this card not the same as the F2A, would this work for that card aswell????
     
  19. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    Different. I used to have an F2A that wasnt big enough to hold FFTA (OMG, so small...). As far as it working, I dont know/think if the loader supports it. Might wanna check out the wiki on it (if one exists).
     

Share This Page