Final Fantasy Emulation

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by suprneb, Nov 16, 2007.

Nov 16, 2007

Final Fantasy Emulation by suprneb at 2:10 AM (1,839 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. suprneb
    OP

    Member suprneb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    i was wondering if anyone could write up a list of playable final fantasy games (from 1 to whatever) that can be played either as an actual nds release or as a rom for an emulator

    thanks in advance! [​IMG]

    i know a couple of the final fantasies such as the american versions of ff2 and/or ff3 are unplayable on snemulds, which is why im looking for a list of playable games
     
  2. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    Final Fantasy I, II, III can all be played with NES DS (Using translation patches for II and III, and III was ported to the DS)

    IV is getting another port to the DS.
     
  3. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Well considering that the DS has a GBA slot, just patch the NES versions of 2 and 3 into english and throw all 3 into a PocketNES build in the GBA slot (or use NES DS if you go that way.) If you have a DS flash card then toss on the new FF3 DS instead. And with the GBA slot, just toss 4->6 on a card and go to town on those.

    DS is great if you're a FF RPG fan as you can play the best of the traditional real series all in one place.
     
  4. suprneb
    OP

    Member suprneb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    oops i maybe should have mentioned that all i have so far is an R4 lol
     
  5. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    R4? Well, you at least won't be able to get 4-6 working at full speed that way. Unless they get a proper DS port. FF3 DS and the NES ones should work fine.

    GBA has to have a GBA flash card or perhaps expansion kit (if R4 allows it). While PS1 needs a PSP, since unfortunately no one has made games for it run on any DS.
     
  6. HazeyTheLazy

    Banned HazeyTheLazy Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    United States
    I PLAY FF 1-3 ON NESds and 4-6 ON SNemulDS!!!
     
  7. Jaejae

    Member Jaejae Superfly Don't Used

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    625
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    The SNES FF's won't work on SnemulDS afaik.
     
  8. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Well, there's the FF remakes for GBA.. But the OP doesn't have a Slot-2 Flashcart..

    ~Nero
     
  9. iritegood

    Member iritegood GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    My ROMs:
    Final Fantasy IV (U) (V1.1)
    Final Fantasy V (J) [T+Eng1.1_RPGe]
    Final Fantasy VI (U) (V1.1) [!]

    Work fine for me (even though I've only played it for a bit)

    Edit:
    I meant
    Final Fantasy II (U) (V1.1)
    Final Fantasy V (J) [T+Eng1.1_RPGe]
    Final Fantasy III (U) (V1.1) [!]

    I just wrote it like that because the US releases were renamed.
     
  10. Kellicros

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    I would say just get a 3 in 1 expansion, it is cheap and if you can get R4, what is stopping you?

    Let's see, with the expansion pack, it enables you to play:

    Final Fantasy Dawn of Souls (1 + 2)
    Final Fantasy 4~6 advanced

    Then with R4 itself, FF3 remake for the DS, see? full old school FF collection perfectly with no emulation hassles.

    After that, you may wanna collect those few FF Legends on the Gameboy and play them via Lameboy/Goomba.
     
  11. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    FF Tactics Advanced for the GBA kicks total ass.

    It kept me on my feet for approx. 500 hours.. Well that was a couple years back when I used VBA.

    ~Nero
     
  12. Jaejae

    Member Jaejae Superfly Don't Used

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    625
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Yep, I get you, I was talking about Hazey, who thinks that, somehow, he is playing FFVI (III) SNES with SnemulDS.
    He must be special.
     
  13. iritegood

    Member iritegood GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    I see what you mean now. I tried VI and V and they both didn't work (either too many graphical glitches or the game won't get past the intro), IV (II) however, worked.

    So I guess the only games you could play on a slot-1 is 1-4
     
  14. fateastray

    Member fateastray GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Country:
    Netherlands
    have you trieda shop in FF2(4)? Or access the menu? you won't be able to see the font == Unplayable.
     

Share This Page