Files to play JUST ds games

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Jgel, Jul 3, 2007.

Jul 3, 2007

Files to play JUST ds games by Jgel at 7:27 PM (2,905 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. Jgel
    OP

    Newcomer Jgel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United States
    I still can't keep my card from crashing. Just shuts off at time. If I only want to use my R4 to play DS game what files do I need to put on the card? Do I need to moonshell? I don't want skins or cheats or anything. What files will I need on the card?
     


  2. Skye07

    Member Skye07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Download the latest R4 Firmware, put that on the sd card, and put roms either in the root or make a folder "roms" and put them in there
     
  3. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    You can download delete the moonshell folder, maybe the /ebook folder in /system and that's it.

    Oh and...make a back up [​IMG]

    edit: lol
     
  4. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    you don't need the skins or cheat.dat (AFAIK) either if you are just going to use it for roms. In fact you can downgrade to a version which doesn't have all these gimmicks.
     
  5. Jgel
    OP

    Newcomer Jgel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United States
    Well STILL NOT WORKING. I got a 2nd R4 and a new 1 gig JAPAN Kingston card and it is still the same.

    I have...

    _system_ (in there is themes folder and gbaframe.bmp)
    _DS_MENU.DAT
    _DS_MENU.SYS
    _DS_MSHL.nds
    0056 - SUPER MARIO 64_trim.nds
    0056 - SUPER MARIO 64_trim.sav

    The above is ALL that is on the card. I decided to delete eveything else. I reformatted the Micro SD card. Deleted the _DS_MSHL.nds and it still crashes. The DS just shuts down. I did this before on my DS Simply with a Kingston TAIWAN 1 gig card. So I thought that I would try a new card and memory. It crashes on most games. Any ideas??? This is driving me crazy. Could it be the DS????? Could not DS not be working with R4 cards?? Is that possible??? PLEASE HELP.
     
  6. blade85

    Member blade85 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    United States
    why dont you just put everything that should be there and not delete anything.....

    if it still messes up, then reformat and redo it

    if that still doesnt work, get a new microsd card
     
  7. Jgel
    OP

    Newcomer Jgel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United States
    I did have everything in there and it still crashed. And I just got my 3rd SD card???
     
  8. Sonicandtails

    Member Sonicandtails GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    Did you do something stupid like format it to NTFS?
     
  9. Jgel
    OP

    Newcomer Jgel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United States
    No I tried FAT and FAT32??? I really think it might be my NDS???? Is that possible?
     
  10. Sonicandtails

    Member Sonicandtails GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    No it's not.
     
  11. cheapassdave

    Member cheapassdave GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    have you tried not trimming your roms?
     
  12. Jgel
    OP

    Newcomer Jgel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United States
    Yep I used Trimed and untrimmed.
     
  13. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    Never had a crash. But I believe moonshell can be removed. I'm not sure about the skin files though.
     
  14. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It sounds to me like the DS is at fault. Either a wonky slot 1, or some other problem causing it to hang.

    The only other possibilities I can think of are that the card reader you're using is somehow causing this, or the roms are corrupted in some subtle way that causes them to hang, but still allows them to start in the first place. Both of those seem unlikely given the circumstances, but stranger things have happened.

    If possible, try using a retail DS game in the DS and see if it crashes, and try the R4s in a different DS and see if they crash it as well.


    Edit: I just re-read the first post. The DS is powering off during gameplay? That's almost certainly a problem with the DS or the battery.
     
  15. Xelia

    Newcomer Xelia Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Curiously, what capacity/type of card is it?
     
  16. SkH

    Member SkH GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Country:
    Algeria
    LOL shuts off during palytime by button press? What then, if you didn't push any buttons? Try a Touch-Screen based game that didn't using the buttons!! Like: Kirby: Canvas Curse, Pac-Pix, Nervous Brickdown, Chocobo Tales, etc.

    And tell me they are shuts down or not! [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  17. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Mine also crashes in pokemon pearl and servial other games.
    But it began after i installed the 1.10 loader.

    Maybe the loader is just messed up?
     
  18. Jgel
    OP

    Newcomer Jgel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United States

    Yea I tried it with and without. No luck.
     
  19. Jgel
    OP

    Newcomer Jgel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United States
    I have tried many different roms without luck. Retail DS games run fine. Slot 1 and 2 both work with a retail game. Yea, the DS just goes black. I don't have another DS so I will have to wait and see if it will run on another DS. I have been putting up with this for about a year. Maybe I will just sell this DSL and get a new one.
     
  20. Jgel
    OP

    Newcomer Jgel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United States
    I have used 3 different cards...

    1 Gig Kingston Japan
    1 Gig Kingston Tiawan
    1 Gig SD (not sure were it is from)
     

Share This Page