File encryption software

• Thread starter Deleted User
  • Start date
  • Views 1,253
  • Replies 14
D

Deleted User

OP
There's stuff on my computer that I really don't want to get leaked. Passport scans, social security numbers, assignments (I've heard stories of people leaving a USB stick behind then getting accused of plagiarism). Storing it in unencrypted format is a disaster waiting to happen. Before this disaster happens I'm going to secure it.

But I've never used file encryption software before and don't want to make a stupid mistake which leaves my data compromised, or maybe I'm just going paranoid.

My worries include
  • The files will only be secure while they are stored and not when they are open. If Windows 10 crashes and sends an error report to Microsoft this error report may include part of the file stored on the RAM in unencrypted format.

• The program I use to view and edit the file might upload parts of the decrypted file to it's developer's servers.

• The file encryption program or the program used to view and edit the file might include a back door which could be discovered by a hacker.

• Windows is a very buggy operating system and a virus may leak the files and key to a hacker.

• Programs like Microsoft Word create draft copies of documents as they're written. The draft copy could be stored on a hard drive in unencrypted format and not get securely deleted after use.

• There's probably something else which I haven't thought of yet.
Of course technology is a tool and is only as good as the person who uses it. Private data should not be accessed in public because there could be someone behind you on their phone recording you type in your password or viewing a file and HD CCTV is the norm these days.