FFTA2: dumb question about phoenix downs

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by alfa01, Jun 29, 2008.

Jun 29, 2008
  1. alfa01
    OP

    Newcomer alfa01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Although I have already attempted to threadjack with this question, I thought it might be an easy answer for you guys. How do I use Phoenix downs? I know in other FF games the character will go to 1 HP and all another character to apply the phoenix down, but in FFTA2 they just disappear off the battlefield when they reach 0. I think I am supposed to equip the item, but I can't figure out how.

    Sorry for the newb question. My first time playing a Tactics game and I am totally addicted, but I'm level 20 and I still can't figure it out! Also makes me wish someone ported X-Com to the DS, but that's another story.

    Thanks! [​IMG]
     
  2. T-hug

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,599
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to have one of your ability slots set to Items. Use it on 2 or 3 of your guys you should be good until you learn revive with white mage or somethin [​IMG]
    Hope that helps I haven't started it yet, I'm sure it's the same as the first game.
    Also if you need to learn the ability you can from soldier class iirc.
     
  3. alfa01
    OP

    Newcomer alfa01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the reply.

    Yes, I have multiple characters with items ability equipped, but I guess my question is when to use the phoenix down? You can't use it after someone is KO'd because they leave the screen. In past FF games it is only effective at a KO down to 1 HP. It doesn't make sense to apply it to someone who is near death as it doesn't restore HP right? Sorry for the basic question, but I really can't figure it out.

    I know it's probably really obvious, but I need someone to explain how to use them as if I were 10 years old! hahaha...
     
  4. RedIce

    Member RedIce GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    268
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Country:
    Portugal
    When you use it, you have to select someone that died (and isn't onscreen, because of that) and then you choose a spot on the adjacent squares, and they appear alive there.
     
  5. alfa01
    OP

    Newcomer alfa01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I just used it and I feel like an idiot! [​IMG] I was always trying to select with the left/right and looking at the top screen instead of hitting the adjacent square first.

    Thanks for all the help!
     
  6. RedIce

    Member RedIce GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    268
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Country:
    Portugal
    You're welcome ^^
     

Share This Page