FFTA Unconventional Linking Help/Questions

Discussion in 'GBA - Console and Game Discussions, Help and Tips' started by theOtherGuy, Dec 4, 2009.

Dec 4, 2009
  1. theOtherGuy
    OP

    Newcomer theOtherGuy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, this is going to sound kind of dumb. Alright, been playing FFTA, about 80 hours in. I have one mission left. I need a RUSTY SWORD...and apparently I don't have it. So, I come to you guys for some help. Are there any unconventional ways to somehow link with a REAL GBA cart? By the way, I'm playing it on my DSLite. The first thing that came to mind, was somehow use an emulator and broadcast a connection. But then...I remembered that the GBA games used a link cable. What to do...what to do...?

    I guess on a side-note, if all else fails, including some magical time machine in a closet somewhere, I guess I can always try a cheating device? Anybody know of anything that works on the Slot-2 of the DS for GBA games?
     
  2. Magmorph

    Member Magmorph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    You could use your save from your real gba card on a PC emulator and use that to make a connection. This is assuming that you have a flashcard for your Ds.
     
  3. theOtherGuy
    OP

    Newcomer theOtherGuy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I have one of those old R4s on my DS, but...how do you do that? I always through you had to use like a weird contraption of cables modify a real cart?
     
  4. Magmorph

    Member Magmorph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    You don't have to modify the cart at all, just get the save off of it so you can use it on an emulator. This can be done using your R4. I think this program will work to backup your save but I have never tested it myself.

    http://filetrip.net/f3228-GBA-Backup-Tool-0-21.html
     
  5. theOtherGuy
    OP

    Newcomer theOtherGuy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Ouch...AVG detected a virus in that file you linked to.

    Whatever, spilled/spilt milk. Anyways, do you know how to use the tool? I don't want to accidentally delete my saves too.
     
  6. Magmorph

    Member Magmorph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    Just try googling GBA Backup Tool. I wasn't expecting the file to have a virus its on GBAtemps download server and it has almost 2000 downloads. Sorry about that.

    I used the tool a long time ago to backup all of my GBA saves. Its fairly easy to use but there is probably a chance it could corrupt your save.
     
  7. theOtherGuy
    OP

    Newcomer theOtherGuy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    The file itself was fine, the folder just had some junk in it. I can't tell what it is...gibberish or a different language that my computer couldn't display.

    Hmm...googling seems to reroute me back to GBATemp. [​IMG] But nothing so far...

    I'm just going to play with it with my EZFlash....hopefully I'll come up with something.
     
  8. Magmorph

    Member Magmorph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    I found a tutorial for using it.

     
  9. theOtherGuy
    OP

    Newcomer theOtherGuy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks! You're great. Santa's going to bring you a present. [​IMG]

    AH, completely worked! I hope my game is stable after cheating. [​IMG] I'd give you + points if we had such a thing.
     

Share This Page