Few Simple Acekard Questions for you Pros

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by DarkPacMan77, Jun 5, 2009.

Jun 5, 2009
  1. DarkPacMan77
    OP

    Newcomer DarkPacMan77 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Pacland
    Country:
    United States
    I have figured out a lot since I got my Acekard 2.1 but I'm having trouble with a few things. If possible, please link to tutorials or guides with very detailed steps (or be detailed when responding).

    1. How do I browse the internet on the NDS?
    2. How do I use AIM (AOL Instant Messenger) on the NDS?
    3. I'd like to use ebooks on the NDS. How do I do that?
    4. What are some recommended programs to use to write text on the NDS?

    Thank you for any help!
     
  2. iwakura

    Member iwakura HHNNNNNNGGGG

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    1) you either need to use a slot-2 expansion pack (like the ezflash 3in1) or one of those watered-down homebrew browsers. (DSOrganize comes with one I believe)
    2) DSAIM - homebrew
    3) DSReader - homebrew (no pdf files, just to let you know)
    4) DSOrganize
     
  3. DarkPacMan77
    OP

    Newcomer DarkPacMan77 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Pacland
    Country:
    United States
    But how do I actually get the DS to connect to the internet. I've downloaded DS AIM and DSOrganize but I can't get it to connect to my wireless access point.
     
  4. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You have to set it up in your DS system settings to allow connections to your router. The manual explains how to do this.
     
  5. Tomy Sakazaki

    Member Tomy Sakazaki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    594
    Country:
    Brazil
    To do this with DS lite/phat, you need to run wifi enabled games like Mario Kart DS, Bleach DS an others.
     
  6. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh ya, my bad. I have a DSi so I assumed it was the same for the Phat/Lite.
     
  7. DarkPacMan77
    OP

    Newcomer DarkPacMan77 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Pacland
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks guys, I'll try this to see what's up.

    EDIT - I was able to get online with Mario Kart but I wasn't able to get on AIM or the web browser. Is there anything I may be missing?
     
  8. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    dsorganize should be renamed to dsCorruptmyMSD. its funny how you won't often notice the damage that it did. the last problem i had was 1 rom not working right after using dsorganize. i've also had it stop akaio from flashing to psram but not nor. dsorganize is a great idea but poorly executed and no longer updated.

    dsnotes and wordds are much better note taking applications.

    you need to have ssid set to public broadcast for homebrew to connect to your access point. retail games/roms do not require this.

    -another world
     
  9. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    DSorganize should be the new DISorganize - corrupts my sd card a lot

    DSOrganize is useful for getting to access points that the normal games can't because the range is too small.
     
  10. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    The previous version of DSOrganize is much more stable than the latest release. Use version 3.1129, which is the latest stable release.

    -Bri
     
  11. DarkPacMan77
    OP

    Newcomer DarkPacMan77 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Pacland
    Country:
    United States
    This program also corrupted me haha. I've deleted it now. It made my mario kart not work and also cronotrigger.
     
  12. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Note that sometimes commercial games say "I was able to connect to internetz, but no gain nintendo WIFI". If you use a combination of DSO and Bunjaloo, you can usually get past those "cliky heres to get internetz".
     

Share This Page