1. eilanzier

    OP eilanzier Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Hi all,

    first and foremost would like to thank you for taking the time to read my comments before i begin.

    what happened is that i have recently upgraded my 3ds to a9lh with decrypt 9 and luma3ds(CFW), i installed fbi to the latest version (2.4.8) i downloaded several cia files off the net and i heard its alright to unsigned cia file as long as you're using custom firmware.

    However when i tried to install those cias, FBI simply does not provide me any option to install the CIA. it only provides me with the following option (Delete/Rename/Copy/Paste) it's as though FBI do not recognize these files as CIA files

    However the strange thing is that, this does not happen to all cias. Several cias i downloaded such as big menu/dev menu/fbi/luma3ds/hblauncher have no problem at all, i understand that some of those are already listed in the title.db hence they do not encounter the issue.

    I tried searching the net for exact solution to this but apparently there is no clear solution.

    I hope to get some help from you guys.

    I even tried using legit games cia files, but fbi still do not recognize the files as installable.
     
  2. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Sakura思い
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,032
    Country:
    Japan
    Try installing said games from FreeShop if they're available, the .cias themselves could potentially be corrupted
     
  3. Coogie

    Coogie Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    I have the same problem to.there is no install and delete in the fbi.the only option is Delete/Rename/Copy/Paste.the games I've try to install.they install on another 3ds.im confused..
     
  4. JMONHEYMON

    JMONHEYMON Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    i have the same problem the cias installed with the guide installed with the tutorial updated luma 8 newest fbi using hardmod and 3ds guide it installed the luma updater homebrew channel and dsp but when you go to the fbi installed to homescreen when everything is complete that option isnt there only Delete/Rename/Copy/Paste in cias folder

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —


    i did a softmod with version 9. and the options are ther but with a hardmod on 11.4 the Delete/Rename/Copy/Paste is there no install option
     
  5. JMONHEYMON

    JMONHEYMON Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    i tried another card from from another o3dsxl 32gb card that showed the install option to another o3dsxl and the option was there when i went through download pay option to boot homebrew launcher then cia installer ....
     
  6. JMONHEYMON

    JMONHEYMON Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    ok so i think i can only install legit cias i tried 3D OutRun and 3D Solitaire 3D Solitaire installed fine with fbi does anyone know y
     
  7. Natsuru

    Natsuru GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Canada
    Are you running the CIA version or 3dsx version of FBI?
     
  8. JMONHEYMON

    JMONHEYMON Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States


    im not sure i tried the cia in home menu and the one from download play to homebrew launcher


    edited just now
    im on fbi 2.4.8 with luma 8.0 hardmod patched 3ds guide and finalized with guide

    can i use a softmodded o3dsxl nand to put on another o3dsxl with hardmod i currently have (1 )o3dsxl using gateway (1)o3dsxl softmodded with 3ds guide was on 9.0fw and (2) o3dsxl with hardmod was on 11.4 with luma fbi for a total of (4) o3dsxl's
     
    Last edited by JMONHEYMON, Jun 10, 2017
  9. Natsuru

    Natsuru GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Canada
    Can you be more specific? CIA version or 3dsx version. Also what do you mean by "and the one from download play to homebrew launcher"?
     
  10. JMONHEYMON

    JMONHEYMON Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    is there a fbi unsigned cia version maybe i installed the signed version?
    are the 3dsguide cias homebrew and fbi unsigned
    does the guide inject a custom firmware to the nand.bin without unsigned CIA support

    maybe luma options need to be checked none is checked except for show strings in the guide is checked

    i followed the 3dsguide after i hardmodded i installed the cias in the guide that gave me fbi and homebrew on the home page there is another way to get to fbi through the download play using l d down and select to start homebrew the ways i tried ...i have many 3ds xl's if i can use nand from another 3ds

    maybe the update ruined bootstrap mod
    should i try to reinstall bootstrap again
     
    Last edited by JMONHEYMON, Jun 10, 2017
  11. Natsuru

    Natsuru GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Canada
    Signed CIA's are from Nintendo, there is no signed version. FYI
    If you have the FBI icon on your home menu then you are using the CIA version. Can you post a screen shot of you trying to install a CIA?
    DON'T try to restore a NAND from another system, they are not interchangeable and you will brick the system. A hardmod will needed to restore a backup NAND from that system to fix it.
    I have never seen a way to launch FBI though download play. I've only seen it through Home Menu and Homebrew Launcher.
     
    JMONHEYMON and Quantumcat like this.
  12. JMONHEYMON

    JMONHEYMON Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States


    i had no problem installing unsigned cias from usb helper using fbi before i installed like 250 cias b4 and now it doesnt give me the option i already installed outrun on the same system and now no install option
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by JMONHEYMON, Jun 10, 2017
  13. Natsuru

    Natsuru GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Canada
    I think I might know whats happening here.
    USB helper might be downloading the CIA's (games) in an un encrypted format for use with Cirta.
    Or you didn't specify the title keys URL in the programs settings.
    I'm going to try something on my end but won't be able to test it until tonight.
    Until then you you try to install some 3DS homebrew with FBI such as
    https://github.com/Ryuzaki-MrL/CacheTool/releases
    https://notabug.org/arc13/freeShop/releases
    https://github.com/ErmanSayin/Themely/releases

    Download the put them on the SD card and install them (if you can) like games.
     
    JMONHEYMON likes this.
  14. JMONHEYMON

    JMONHEYMON Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    i get the download from usb helper than i pack it to cia b4 i install maybe i got this one from another place =)

    that makes perfect sense ill try another game and see also
    ill check out the links
     
    Last edited by JMONHEYMON, Jun 10, 2017
  15. Natsuru

    Natsuru GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Canada
    Standing by.
     
  16. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,925
    Country:
    Norway
    Not likely, as until recently it wasn't possible to decrypt .3DS/.CIA files without a 3DS, so unless Wii U USB Helper updated recently to add auto decryption as default then that's probably not it.
    Well, neither of those are legit CIAs AFAIK.
     
    Ryccardo likes this.
  17. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,401
    Country:
    Italy
    It did, or so I heard

    But any decent CFW should accept decrypted non-system titles anyway
     
  18. JMONHEYMON

    JMONHEYMON Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States

    there are games for cfw it says cfw version
     
  19. Natsuru

    Natsuru GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Canada
    He also could have packed the CIA wrong and FBI sees it as not a valid CIA and refuses to install it.
    That's any I asked if he could test some official home brew CIA's.
     
  20. JMONHEYMON

    JMONHEYMON Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    i think i know what happened i was decrypting my games from .3ds to cia with the godmode and i switched to usb helper for a few new games for 3ds games wii u usb works fine and am trying to pack to cia and do the same thing but there not decrypted im waiting for a game to test it ill as soon as i find out
     
    Last edited by JMONHEYMON, Jun 10, 2017
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - install, feature,