faulty Z key :/

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by xcalibur, Jul 13, 2008.

Jul 13, 2008

faulty Z key :/ by xcalibur at 4:57 PM (1,232 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I've had this annoying issue with my Z key where it sometimes stops working... Even after I bought a new keyboard.
    Its a bit of a strange problem so bear with me while I explain it.

    First off, this issue just comes and goes and I can't seem to tie it to any process. When I press the Z key without any modifiers (i.e. shift, alt, ctrl) the key refuses to show. But once I hold shift, caps Z shows up fine. If I put on caps lock, just pressing the key won't work either. I have to press shift + Z for a lower case Z. Another thing which I find strange is that if I set the Z key as a shortcut on its own, it works fine. It seems the key just won't show :/.

    I did full tests with Nod32, Ad-Aware, Spybot and they've all come up empty.


    I'm totally enjoying the new keyboard though.
     
  2. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Is it PS/2 or USB?
     
  3. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PS/2
     
  4. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Could be something wrong with the port or you mobo, does anybody have a USB keyboard you could borrow?
     
  5. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    unplug your kb, and check all the pins... see if any are bent... if not, check the port... see if there is anything in the holes... if not, check your mb... look for anything out of the ordinary...

    as fischju said, try a USB kb, or try your kb on a friends/family members computer, and the other way around...

    most likely sounds like a mb problem, since 2 kb's are messing up...
     
  6. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It was software. I've been on Vista for more than a day and I haven't had an issue with my z key once.
     
  7. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Try using On-Screen Keyboard once. That will determine where the problem lies.
     

Share This Page