Sogdiana
OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Uzbekistan
I'm an amature when it comes to stocks, but father claims to be able to make a ton if given the startup money. He invested 100 stocks in Apple (NASDAQ: AAPL) at $120.00 per stock. Recently it's been going up and doing well. However, I think that relying on stocks to make money is completely stupid. My math teacher tells me it's all wishful thinking... How would I convince the old timer that buying stocks is not the way out in life?

Costello

Headmaster
Administrator
Trophies
XP
Well you know, a lot of people actually live off stock profit.
Your father isn't totally wrong about it, I think.
I completely hate this system because of what it involves, but you gotta face it: it does work... sometimes. That's the problem. It can be so unreliable.
I wouldn't count on it for a living but I'm no expert.

Little

I r Little
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
It's all about risk. The stocks are quite high risk, but also high reward. Just think that let's say apple release a new product that sells shit loads, and the shares go up by $10 each. He's made $1000 pretty much over night. You'd be looking at around 2/3 years of having $12,000 in the bank at 5% interest before you get similar return.

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Apple doing well?: since this year started it has tanked losing nearly 80 points (when it started out a literal fraction under 200) although it is clawing back some stuff slowly.
http://finance.google.com/finance?chdnp=1&...p;q=NASDAQ:AAPL

The only safe way to make money in stocks is to go the other side of the law but still that does not help here.