FAT_ReadFile(boot.elf) failed with error -1 ??

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bennydigital, May 22, 2008.

  1. bennydigital
    OP

    Member bennydigital GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Country:
    United States
    When ever I boot the TP hack It says FAT_ReadFile(boot.elf) failed with error -1 then freezes and I have to unplug the system.
    What's going on? Ive formated the SD card a few times to FAT16.
     
  2. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    make sure your twilight hack save is the non experimental fat32 one
     
  3. bennydigital
    OP

    Member bennydigital GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Country:
    United States
    Its 0.1alpha3a.
     
  4. putifreak

    Member putifreak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Germany
  5. bennydigital
    OP

    Member bennydigital GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Country:
    United States
    I did 3 times.
     
  6. putifreak

    Member putifreak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Germany
    With the SD Formatter?
     
  7. bennydigital
    OP

    Member bennydigital GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes
    So, Is that error saying that it's not formated correctly?
     
  8. vncool

    Newcomer vncool Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    I had the same problem last night, the problem with mine is that I am using 6MB SD card trying to hack the system.
    Then I switch to 1GB (Kington) sd card..REFORMAT…and make sure that to use File System “FAT” and “Default Allocation size”……and it’s work perfectly…..

    I think the problem is not the size of the SD card but it had to do with the Allocation Unit Size need to be “DEFAULT”
     
  9. bennydigital
    OP

    Member bennydigital GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for your input. I checked the wiibrew site and the error is due to formating so Ill just keep formating and trying.
    Wait you used a 6MB SD card?
     
  10. vncool

    Newcomer vncool Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    I got my 6MD SD card when I bought the digital camera. I thought I put it in use instead collecting dust.....
     
  11. bennydigital
    OP

    Member bennydigital GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Country:
    United States
    I thought my 32MB card was old. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page