FAT16, FAT32

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by 1c3d3m0n, Dec 11, 2007.

Dec 11, 2007

FAT16, FAT32 by 1c3d3m0n at 2:06 PM (1,378 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. 1c3d3m0n
    OP

    Newcomer 1c3d3m0n Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Singapore
    Is it true that some games wouldn't work when the microSD used in R4 is in FAT32 or FAT 16?
     
  2. Harley77

    Newcomer Harley77 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
  3. vincom2

    Newcomer vincom2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Singapore
    The microSD won't work if it's not in FAT32 or FAT16.
     
  4. 1c3d3m0n
    OP

    Newcomer 1c3d3m0n Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Singapore
    sorry if the question is unclear, I want to know if some games would not work if its on FAT16, and what are the other games that may not work in FAT32. Or is it that both FAT16 and FAT32 would run all games fine?
     
  5. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    I use FAT32, never had a problem.
     
  6. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    all games run fine on either, they will work as long as they are under FAT. the difference in FAT32 and FAT16 is better performance i think, its only slight though. but it really depends on what size micro SD you have, for 1gb FAT16 is better and for anything higher FAT32 is best.
     
  7. jimmy_logic

    Newcomer jimmy_logic Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Australia
    FAT16 with 32K clusters seems to remove alot of incompatibility with slowdowns and freezing as the data is in a large continous block. But it does waste space because even a 1K file will use 32K of disk space. I used both but stuck with FAT16 purely for the above reason.
     
  8. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, that's correct.
    But taking up that much space is not a fact.

    Each file will still be the same size as it is on your computer regardless of the Format of the drive. Formatting it with higher clusters will just eat up more drive space.

    Test 1: 1.6GB of ROMs, Homebrew, Media, Etc; On a FAT16 (4KB Clusters) Sandisk 2GB
    -Space Left: 368 MB

    Test 2: 1.6 GBA of ROMs, Homebrew, Media, Etc; On a FAT16 (32KB Clusters) Sandisk 2GB
    -Space Left: 309 MB

    The space isn't that much, but it's worth it for the extra performance.

    ~Nero
     
  9. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    Problem with smaller clusters: File Fragmentation.

    That is all. 32k is ideal. Really up to you.
     
  10. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    FAT32 and FAT16 both work, just get Kingston, and then format it to 32/16.
     

Share This Page