Fake micro SD? A-Data 4GB.

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by SG, Jul 31, 2008.

Jul 31, 2008

Fake micro SD? A-Data 4GB. by SG at 9:31 PM (1,695 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. SG
    OP

    Member SG GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, I got my A-data micro SD today.

    Thing is, the PC doesn't always detect it. In fact - the PC didn't detect the card actually being in the standard sized SD adaptor that came with it but the PC did detect the adaptor itself. As for the USB thing with my Acekard 2 that has a micro SD to USB converter, it detected it earlier on but now as with the SD card adaptor, detects only the adaptor but sill asks me to 'insert the disk'.

    So I'm wondering, any chance this could be a fake micro SD? I wasn't aware that they even could be faked, but after some Googling, it appears that they can be.

    The item I bought is here: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie...N:IT&ih=006
     
  2. jabjab

    Member jabjab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    doubt its a fake as i bought mine from that seller few months ago and works perfectly - perhaps a faulty one
     
  3. skagamer

    Member skagamer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    There can be a compatibility issue with MicroSDHC cards and older PCs. There have also been reports of DOA A-Data cards as well. Try using the card on a different computer...I imagine that's where the problem lies.
     
  4. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    It could also be a bad microSD reader. The ones that come with flash carts are notoriously bad. You might want to buy a different one.

    -Bri
     
  5. Whizz

    Member Whizz When things don't go right, go left.

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Turn around...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It could just have problems connecting. Try putting sticky tape on the top, that helped me once.
     
  6. SG
    OP

    Member SG GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies guys!

    My PC is fairly new; I also tried it on my other PC via the flashcard adaptor.

    Given what Bri says about the flashcard adaptor, I guess that could be the problem there (it would also explain why it worked initially and not now) - I've read that not all SD card readers will do SDHC? I've got a Brother DCP-11C printer with a built in card reader - dunno how to tell if it does SDHC.

    If I get it working on my PC, can anyone tell me how to test the speeds on it?
     
  7. SG
    OP

    Member SG GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I tried the Micro SD to normal SD adaptor with a mate's 1GB normal micro SD card and it worked - so money's on the USB adaptor that came with my Acekard being at fault.

    Dammit - anyone got an old micro SDHC USB or standard SDHC reader that they don't want?

    At least the game on there work on the DS in the meantime I suppose...
     
  8. jabjab

    Member jabjab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    *scratches head* did you try the USB reader thing that came with acekard with your mates 1gb card?
    seems to be the proper test to see if its working.
    what you have shown is that the micro-normal sd adaptor works just.

    usb reader + adata used to work
    usb reader + adata doesn't work now
    if 1gb doesn't work then likely the reader
    if it works then likely the adata
     
  9. SG
    OP

    Member SG GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Goddamn I'm an idiot - I didn't do that.

    And he's away for the whole weekend.
     
  10. AXYPB

    Member AXYPB GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    593
    Country:
    United States
    I find that sometimes my card doesn't connect when I plug it into my computer. It takes a couple of tries at times but I don't find it enough of a hindrance to bring it up.
     
  11. CorruptJon

    Member CorruptJon :)

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    781
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    ALWAYS look at the item location. Hong Kong almost always indicates that it is a fake.
     
  12. SG
    OP

    Member SG GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh, I know about HK and fakes, but I wasn't aware that fake SDs existed.

    Still, looks like it's legit and the reader's at fault. Mind you, I wouldn't mind running some tests as it runs on the DS - anyone know of any homebrew that can test SD card speed on the DS?
     
  13. jabjab

    Member jabjab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    cf_bench tests card speed

    http://www.pineight.com/gba/cf_bench.zip

    couple of numbers i got on my card

    sequential 512b : 377 micro sec
    Random access 512b : 413 micro sec etc

    not sure how you are gonna get that on without the micro sd working on pc though?
     
  14. CorruptJon

    Member CorruptJon :)

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    781
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    When it comes to the Chinese, there's nothing you can't pirate [​IMG]
     

Share This Page