Fake iEDGE cards now on the market

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by DarkWay, Mar 24, 2010.

Mar 24, 2010
  1. DarkWay
    OP

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]

    hey all I was browsing my flashcards website to see if there's any updates available but instead of finding updates I have found this peice of information from the EDGE team

     


  2. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    What starts of as a clone gas clones, something ironic this ways comes.
     
  3. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,308
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's funny being that the iEdge itself is a reputable clone, isn't it?

    Actually, Team Cyclo's Slot-2 card, their CycloDS microSD was a Supercard Lite clone, fancy that.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. DarkWay
    OP

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that's funny [​IMG] I don't remember cyclo ever releasing a DSi flashcard......so that would mean the iEDGE is original? right? [​IMG]

    I could be wrong though
     
  5. taken

    Member taken GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    520
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    iEDGE is original. Yes it is.
     
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    a clone of a clone
     
  7. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Acekard 2.1 and 2i are essentially the same, save for DSi compatibility. The EDGE bearing the resemblance to CycloDS in the way it does, the iEDGE still will do, apart from the obvious compatibility.
     
  8. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    there's really no point in buying an iedge...at least not right now since they don't have half the features the m3 real/m3izero has and they're around the same price anyways
     
  9. BlackDave

    Member BlackDave Official GBATemp "Cleanup Guy"

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    The Promised Land...
    Country:
    United States
    The iEDGE is original

    But the EDGE it self was a clone of the Cyclo Evolution

    There were threads on other forum with pictures comparing the inside of the cyclo and the edge.

    The one difference, I remember, was that the firmware loads from the cart on the cyclo and from the micro sd card on the EDGE (the last method has been adopted by many flashcarts)
     
  10. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly, I dont care who the clone is. EDGE has demonstrated that they can make a better product by making at compatible with the DSi.
     
  11. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A different product. Team Cyclops could easily make a DS mode CycloDS Evolution DSi-compatible, but they don't.
     
  12. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Who cares what reason cyclo doesnt make a DSi enabled card. They didn't. EDGE filled the void. A winner is them. end of story.
     
  13. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    So all those R4is and R4SDHCs are original because they have something the original R4 did not? No, the iEDGE is an enhanced version of a clone. Meaning the iEDGE fake is a clone of an enhancement of a clone of an original made by cloners (of an entirely unrelated device).
     
  14. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    All I hear is bla bla bla.

    That point is moot. Also most R4 "clones" are not R4 clones at all, but M3 clones. The only reaon they are called R4 is because that was the most popular cart for a long time, thus cashing in on the void that the original R4 team left when they stopped production of the R4 (original)
     
  15. toejam316

    Member toejam316 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    New Zealand
    How're they M3 clones? Most of 'em are based on the TTDS or the R4 - the M3 Simply was literally a licensed clone of the R4.
    Well done on being a jackass though. Top stuff.
     
  16. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, i'm a jackass now huh? Well good job on having a discussion without having to throw insults. How about you show a bit more maturity, than we can continue our discussion, hmm?
     
  17. zuron7

    Member zuron7 RBYG

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    GPS not available in this area
    Country:
    India
    It doesn't matter as long as it's not an R4.
     
  18. laxman0220

    Member laxman0220 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Is this guy saying the iedge is not a clone of cyclo, just because edge has a dsi version and cyclo doesn't?
     
  19. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pretty much. And now there are clones of the enhanced clones. [​IMG]

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  20. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    a clone of a clone... i wonder why the acekard doesnt get famous clones nor the SC
    its probably cuz they are better secured (esp by AKAIO) than edge or r4
     

Share This Page