Failure to Launch - WW and VC games from SD do not launch

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by k4ever, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    I have firmware 4.0u, and I followed and installed everything from this thread: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=168890 by deviyl
    I downloaded some wads and installed them via wad manager 1.5 into the wii. The problem started when the wii didnt have enough memory to hold more wads, so I decided to move them to a 2GB sandisk sd card and run the games from there. I have moved 4 wads and only one can be launched from the sd while the other 3 get a "failure to launch" message. The game that can be launched is "Tales of monkey island - chapter 1", and the games that cant be read are "paper mario ( n64 )", "adventure island the beginning", and "Onslaught".
    I have done some research and some people say that it maybe an IOS problem. That I need to install a patched version of IOS60 via wad manager.
    First of all I dont know what is an IOS, and I dont know how to install one. Also some people say that this will lead to a bricked wii, but most of them have that problem with a 4.1+ firmware ( I have just 4.0 ).
    Where can I find that patched IOS if I have to, and what options should I choose when installing it ( some say I should choose NO when prompted if I want to install the shop channel, etc ... ).
     
  2. nicholasandre

    Newcomer nicholasandre Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure. I tried to do this before. But without success. I'm not sure about that IOS your talking about. But i have a feeling that his could be tricky, and might damage the Wii. Too bad the damn thing doesn't have more memory.
     
  3. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    make sure you have the latest IOS53 and IOS55
    and also a trucha bugged system menu IOS
    which in your case is IOS60
     
  4. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Well, my wii got bricked after I installed the cios60 via the wad manager. Now I have 2 options: Use Preloader, or use bootmii as boot2 ( I could install it as boot and not as ISO ).
    How do I access bootmii? Or should I use preloader instead of it?
     
  5. masterdeluxe247

    Newcomer masterdeluxe247 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Umm... you had to install those BEFORE it got bricked. At this point, I'm pretty sure you're f'd.
     
  6. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Of course I had those 2 already installed .. DUUUUUUUUUUUUUH!
    Now I want to use bootmii instead of preloader but I dont know how to use it. The bootmii files are already in the root of the sd card and when I restart my wii I get to the bootmii screen. I have 4 options:
    Wii, Homebrew channel, Sd card, and "gears". Where should I go and what can I do?
     
  7. masterdeluxe247

    Newcomer masterdeluxe247 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, sorry. Go to the gears and then go to the red arrow and restore your NAND.
     
  8. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i've got bootmii installed and i dont see a menu ever just goes to the wii menu after pushing A did it install right? i installed as boot2 also do you have to backup your nand 1st to restore it or can restore anyway?
     
  9. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    I just did that and Im in the process of recovery. So far so good but I have some questions.
    I followed this guide when I softmodded my wii: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=168890
    Does this mean that I have to reinstall preloader, cios38rev14, patch ios36, backup launchers, etc ... everything I may have done into my wii after I created the nand backup?
     
  10. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States

    Your SD must not be compatible with bootmii.

    And you have to have your nand backed up first.
     
  11. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States

    Whatever you did AFTER the Nand backup is gone...
     
  12. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately yeah =(. I installed everything again and Im running a second nand backup from this point now. That way I wont have to go into this whole process again.

    Now, back to topic?
    The cios60 installation didnt do any good AT ALL, so now what options do I have so I can launch wads directly from the sd card?
     
  13. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    Softmod your wii again or if it's already softmodded. Run DOP IOS MODv6 and install the latest IOS's 53 and 55 with no patch.

    Then install IOS60v6174 (If you're on 4.1) with the hash check/patch.

    But if you're on 4.2 install IOS70 with the hash check/patch.

    Then WW and VC games will launch from the SD card
     
  14. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Don't install cIOSes that are floating around. Especially ones that the system menu uses.

    Dop-IOS would have solved the problem easily: http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Dop-IOS

    I would suggest to install the latest IOS60 (get it from NUS d/ler: http://wiibrew.org/wiki/NUS_Downloader) and install that using Wadmanager from bootmii (select the HBC).

    That should unbrick your Wii, then use Dop-IOS and trucha IOS60 If you're on 4.0/4.1!

    So yeah, I would suggest that, but I'd advise you not to.
     
  15. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    I installed the cios60 by using wad manager, and now since I deleted preloader ( installed a system menu 4.0u through wad manager ) as well as all the files associated with it ( using nandcleaner ) the problem ended. Now I can launch "most" of the games that didnt work previously from the sd card. My guess is that those 2 games that still cant get launched are of bad origin, to put it simply ... bad wads. I even noticed I cant launch them from the wii system either!
    I know the problem wasnt caused just me downloading bad wad files, because some games that could be launched via wii system memory, before I installed cios60, couldnt be launched via sd card ... and now they can.
    But yeah ... its more advisable to get the IOS from dop-dos and NUS downloader.
    Thanks for the feedback! =)
     

Share This Page