"Failed to run tsec_keygen firmware" on SXOS Pro USB dongle when using fusee payload to launch AMS 1.2.3

efgamer

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 5, 2021
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
83
Country
Brazil
I'm getting the error: "Failed to run tsec_keygen firmware" on SXOS Pro USB dongle when using fusee payload to launch AMS 1.2.3 then after I press the power button to reboot it seems AMS loads normally but I'm not sure if I should be concerned about this error or not.

The system firmware is on 13.1.0.

Has anyone else caught this error?
 

xFlesk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
163
Trophies
0
Website
thecompany.pl
XP
1,815
Country
Netherlands
i dont know, dont have chip ;)
but if sxos chip only looking for boot.dat on the root of sd (like dongle does) then it should work without problems
 

Badablek

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
530
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
3,022
Country
France
i dont know, dont have chip ;)
but if sxos chip only looking for boot.dat on the root of sd (like dongle does) then it should work without problems

no, it does not work with sx chip. boot.dat is signed, you can't use anything else than official boot.dat from Xecuter
this only works with SX PRO dongle.
 

UnderJinx

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
420
Trophies
0
Age
51
XP
1,281
Country
Denmark
i dont know, dont have chip ;)
but if sxos chip only looking for boot.dat on the root of sd (like dongle does) then it should work without problems
I think it does will try this and hopefully it will work if i got the brains for it
okay too bad
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
19,055
Trophies
2
Age
29
Location
New York City
XP
13,522
Country
United States
I'm getting the error: "Failed to run tsec_keygen firmware" on SXOS Pro USB dongle when using fusee payload to launch AMS 1.2.3 then after I press the power button to reboot it seems AMS loads normally but I'm not sure if I should be concerned about this error or not.

The system firmware is on 13.1.0.

Has anyone else caught this error?
Did you update Atmosphere to the latest version?
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
6,511
Trophies
2
XP
6,161
Country
United States
I had a similar experience. See if this helps….

Post in thread 'Hack SXOS'
https://gbatemp.net/threads/hack-sxos.582831/post-9651425

Long story short there’s a new setup you need in hekate_ipl.ini:

I switched to using package3 and now everything just works!

[Atmosphere CFW] payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee.bin <—-delete this fss0=atmosphere/package3 kip1=atmosphere/kip_patches/* logopath=/graphics/splash/current/atmosphere.bmp icon=/graphics/icons/current/atmosphere.bmp id=atmo

(Your graphics paths will most certainly be different than my custom ones so change to wherever your files are located.)

I works without the payload line too but I have a custom splashscreen that doesn’t work without it (yeah…I know…everyone hates splash screens, but I did a bunch of work to make mine cool so I undid all the hard work done to remove them.)
 
Last edited by binkinator,

Turbo_Interceptor

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 30, 2021
Messages
49
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
473
Country
United States
Hate to revive an old thread but I was a long time user of SX OS until it died and I switched over to Atmosphere.

The first few versions of Atmosphere booted just fine. I would use my SX OS dongle to boot up, click on 'payloads' I think and pick 'fusee' and away it went.

A few versions of Atmosphere ago, I started getting these 'tsec_keygen' errors and would just hit the power button and the Switch would boot into Atmosphere. All my games and home brew apps would work just fine so I didn't think much of it. I still don't but I would like to correct this error.

Searching for an answer, I found this thread here and this one and another.

Absolutely nothing I tried in these threads fixed it. None of the editing I did on the Hekate ini file mattered. My last ditch effort was using my SX Pro dongle to launch Hekate and from there, I launched fusee and same error.

I'm using Atmosphere 1.3.0 and I'm on Switch firmware v14 and my Switch is a launch unit.

Any ideas?
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
6,511
Trophies
2
XP
6,161
Country
United States
Hate to revive an old thread but I was a long time user of SX OS until it died and I switched over to Atmosphere.

The first few versions of Atmosphere booted just fine. I would use my SX OS dongle to boot up, click on 'payloads' I think and pick 'fusee' and away it went.

A few versions of Atmosphere ago, I started getting these 'tsec_keygen' errors and would just hit the power button and the Switch would boot into Atmosphere. All my games and home brew apps would work just fine so I didn't think much of it. I still don't but I would like to correct this error.

Searching for an answer, I found this thread here and this one and another.

Absolutely nothing I tried in these threads fixed it. None of the editing I did on the Hekate ini file mattered. My last ditch effort was using my SX Pro dongle to launch Hekate and from there, I launched fusee and same error.

I'm using Atmosphere 1.3.0 and I'm on Switch firmware v14 and my Switch is a launch unit.

Any ideas?

please post your hekate_ipl.ini file and let’s take a look.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Supreme23

OrGoN3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2007
Messages
3,245
Trophies
1
XP
3,335
Country
United States
I had a similar experience. See if this helps….

Post in thread 'Hack SXOS'
https://gbatemp.net/threads/hack-sxos.582831/post-9651425

Long story short there’s a new setup you need in hekate_ipl.ini:

I switched to using package3 and now everything just works!

[Atmosphere CFW] payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee.bin fss0=atmosphere/package3 kip1=atmosphere/kip_patches/* logopath=/graphics/splash/current/atmosphere.bmp icon=/graphics/icons/current/atmosphere.bmp id=atmo

(Your graphics paths will most certainly be different than my custom ones so change to wherever your files are located.)

I works without the payload line too but I have a custom splashscreen that doesn’t work without it (yeah…I know…everyone hates splash screens, but I did a bunch of work to make mine cool so I undid all the hard work done to remove them.)
The fss0 and kip1 lines are completely ignored because you have it chainloading a payload, fusee.bin. just fyi.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Supreme23

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
6,511
Trophies
2
XP
6,161
Country
United States
The fss0 and kip1 lines are completely ignored because you have it chainloading a payload, fusee.bin. just fyi.
Yeah I know…just Saw that. I didn’t want to edit it mid convo.

appreciated. ”updated” it without changing the flaw.
 
  • Like
Reactions: OrGoN3
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
904
Trophies
1
Location
Switch scene
Website
github.com
XP
2,663
Country
Korea, North
Hate to revive an old thread but I was a long time user of SX OS until it died and I switched over to Atmosphere.

The first few versions of Atmosphere booted just fine. I would use my SX OS dongle to boot up, click on 'payloads' I think and pick 'fusee' and away it went.

A few versions of Atmosphere ago, I started getting these 'tsec_keygen' errors and would just hit the power button and the Switch would boot into Atmosphere. All my games and home brew apps would work just fine so I didn't think much of it. I still don't but I would like to correct this error.

Searching for an answer, I found this thread here and this one and another.

Absolutely nothing I tried in these threads fixed it. None of the editing I did on the Hekate ini file mattered. My last ditch effort was using my SX Pro dongle to launch Hekate and from there, I launched fusee and same error.

I'm using Atmosphere 1.3.0 and I'm on Switch firmware v14 and my Switch is a launch unit.

Any ideas?
Instead of chain loading through the SX Boot menu grab the SX Gear boot.dat from somewhere and use that instead. It will automatically load payload.bin from the SD card and has better compatibility with non-tx software. Doing that basically turns your SX Pro in to an SX Gear which was made for the sole purpose of booting non-tx CFW.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RednaxelaNnamtra
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
904
Trophies
1
Location
Switch scene
Website
github.com
XP
2,663
Country
Korea, North

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: Hi