Hacking Failed to apply 1 Firm patch(es).

PrimordialDusknoir

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 6, 2018
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
104
Country
United States
Hey, so I recently got a bigger sd card, so I copy and pasted all the files from the old sd card to the new one. But now whenever I turn on my 3ds (while new sd card is in), it says "An error has ocurred: Failed to apply 1 Firm patch(es). Press any button to shutdown" (This doesn't occur when I have the old sd card in, btw). From what I've found online, I'm supposed to download the most recent boot.firm for Luma, and then put it on the root of the sd card, thus overwriting the old boot.firm, but that doesn't change anything, I still get the exact same error when I turn my 3ds on. I am on Luma v8.1.1 and in the Luma configuration menu, "enable loading external FIRMS and modules" is checked.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,842
Country
United States
Your SD card needs to be formatted FAT32 + 32 KB cluster size in order for the 3DS to read it. If it's bigger than 32 GB, use guiformat.

For a thorough rundown on checking whether your newly purchased card is fake, updating the custom firmware on both SD card and CTRNAND, and making backups of your most important data, follow this post.
 
  • Like
Reactions: PrimordialDusknoir

firewraith

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 25, 2019
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
40
Country
United States
so i looked at the site that you gave and how important is "Backup your SysNAND image and save this somewhere on your computer or external drive." i dont have enough space to do it using a 64 gb

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

sorry, this is new. that was for TurdPoocharger. using the process, what can be deleted safely and disrupt the software?
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,842
Country
United States
so i looked at the site that you gave and how important is "Backup your SysNAND image and save this somewhere on your computer or external drive." i dont have enough space to do it using a 64 gb

sorry, this is new. that was for TurdPoocharger. using the process, what can be deleted safely and disrupt the software?

As said best by

KleinesSinchen said:
There are two kinds of data:
* data you have backed up multiple times
* unimportant data
No backup? No sympathy/pity!

Yes, that sounds harsh/mean or even cruel. But it has an element of truth in it. Please keep your data save by copying it on time.
Trying to recover often fails and is a lot more work than making backups.
For peace of mind, get yourself a spare SD card, flash drive, or external portable hard drive for the express purpose of backing up your data. Look at Amazon or my signature as a starting reference.
If money's tight, there's cloud storage using Google drive. There's absolutely no excuse in NOT backing up important files.
 

firewraith

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 25, 2019
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
40
Country
United States
ok. with dumping a title, what does it mean to move it to .cia? Also, in order, what would the back up files from the above look like on the sd card? so that i coud back it up.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

ok. with dumping a title, what does it mean to move it to .cia? Also, in order, what would the back up files from the above look like on the sd card? so that i coud back it up.
for TurdPooCharger
 

ParseThisCode

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 14, 2019
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
34
Country
Poland
I had same issue. If You have gm9 and backup previous boot.firm, ie. boot.firm.bak, then on boot hold START, on gm9 select backup firm, then image options and boot firm. This will boot to home menu. In FBI remove boot.firm which prevents to boot, then rename boot.firm.bak to boot.firm. Next reboot will works
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Neither