EzFlash 3in1 Cant store save data in SRAM!?!

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by lunarverse, Oct 13, 2008.

Oct 13, 2008
  1. lunarverse
    OP

    Newcomer lunarverse Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Thailand
    I've ordered a lot EZ 3in1 Expansion Packs, all work well with GBA ExpLoader 0.57 and R4.
    But all 3 EZ 3in1 Packs from my last order dont work!!

    It can load and play GBA games with GBA ExpLoader.
    But everytime I turn off my DS save data just disappeared.
    When I turn my DS on and run GBA_ExpLoader.nds, It always ask "May I set this Slot2 expansion pak for GBA ExpLoader?" Everytime!!.
    From my experience, It should ask only once in first time i used the 3in1 pak, right?
    And No SAV data store in SRAM so the program cant backup it to SAV File.

    All 3 Packs have the same problems. (Ordered it on 7 Oct 2008, and just received it on 13 Oct 2008)
    So I'm not sure that dead battery cause this problem.

    Any suggestion?

    Thanks in advance. (Sorry, about my English)
     
  2. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    did you follow the instructions and make all the necessary folders?

    Especally the GBA_SAVE folder?
     
  3. lunarverse
    OP

    Newcomer lunarverse Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Thailand
    This is not my first time to use 3in1 and GBA ExpLoader.
    I have experience, and know how to use this device and program.
    It work well with my old 3in1 pak.

    But only 3 packs of my lastest order have this problem.
    Maybe my english is too bad to explain my problem.
    I wonder if I got defective products, or other reason that cause this problem.
    (They use new chipset or something?)

    Thx anyway.

    Waiting for explain or any suggestion...
     
  4. SamusKnight2K

    Member SamusKnight2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    If I'm correct, you SHOULD be able to access the GBA device via the NDS's main menu even without the flashcard installed. Once you flash a GBA rom to the device the NDS treats it like a real GBA cart (At least mine does.) so you can check there if there's something wrong. Write a GBA game to your 3-in-1 and then turn off the power. Remove the Slot-1 Flashcard (Or leave it in if it's not the auto-boot type.) and start up your NDS. Start the GBA game and get to a point where you can save. Once you've saved turn it off and turn it back on again. Start up the GBA game again and see if your save is still there. If it's not then that means the battery's dead.

    In a case like that you can probably just return it for another if it arrived DOA. Otherwise you can try to remove the battery and solder in a new one. I'm not sure how to do this but it probably beats the alternative of having to spend more money to replace your 3-in-1 each time. Should be a topic somewhere on this site or maybe do a search with Google for instructions. Unfortunately for me this happened and the battery fell out so I need to find a replacement battery and get a soldering gun to reattach it.
     
  5. lunarverse
    OP

    Newcomer lunarverse Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Thailand
    Thanks, SamusKnight2K

    I've tried it in NOR Flash already.
    Still have the same problem. Play game, save, turn off, turn on, save data just disappeared.
    Only 'new game' can select from game's menu.

    Maybe I have to send it back for replacement. [​IMG]
     
  6. john.jingle

    Member john.jingle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    I got a EZFlash 3 in 1 and I'm having trouble with it as well (I'm new to this...)

    I got the PSRAM mode to work. Loading games, then loading the save file to continue where I left off but it's the NOR mode where I get the most trouble.

    I load the game into the NOR Flash memory as well as the save file but then I shut down the DS, turn it back on while holding B and the save file isn't even there!
    There were times when I would look at the save file on my computer and the file would have japanese characters randomly place in the title.
     

Share This Page