EZFlash 3-in-1 with r4ds right for me?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Soybomb, Jun 10, 2007.

Jun 10, 2007
  1. Soybomb
    OP

    Newcomer Soybomb Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    So I've been reading alot of the threads on picking a slot 2 solution and wanted some clarification. The m3lite perfect sounds like its great but its quite pricey so I'm kind of tempted with the ezflash. So I make a directory called GBA on the sd in my r4ds and I toss 3in1_ExpPack_Tool.nds on my sd. I put my patched roms in GBA directory. Lets say I want to play gbagame1, I go to the 3in1tool, tell it to load gbagame1, then I play for a while and shut off the ds. I want to play gbagame2 next time. I go back to the 3in1tool and load gbagame2. The tool now copies the save game from rom1 to the sd in the r4 and then loads gbagame2. When I go back to play gbagame1 later, gbagame2 save is copied to sd.... Do I have all that down right or is there more hassle and complexity to the game saves when running this combo?

    I also want to play nes and snes games, it looks like pocketnes will be the way to go under gba mode so it saves the state. Any emulator things to watch out for?

    Are there any roms that are too big to play under the 3-in-1?

    Thanks all!
     
  2. ssoccerh

    Member ssoccerh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    i would like to know the answer to this too
     
  3. marth989

    Member marth989 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i'll just shut up lol [​IMG],

    although fire emblem sacred stones is a 32mb

    but never transfers with me.
     
  4. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    And there are no GBA games over 32mb so yea.

    You can use the R4 to emulate SNES and (IIRC) NES
     
  5. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Soybomb: You have to create a Save folder inside the GBA folder before using the 3in1 tool. Aside from that, you are correct about how the saves work.

    PocketNES runs just fine on the 3 in 1. There is also another NES emu called HVCA that has nicer looking scaling. I haven't used either very much, so I don't know much else about the features.

    Nearly any GBA homebrew should work on the 3 in 1, as well as most DS homebrew that is in the form of a .ds.gba file. You technically can use DLDI homebrew on GBA flashcarts with the Flash Cart SRAM DLDI driver, but there is no reason to if you have an R4.

    There are no GBA roms or homebrew, or .ds.gba DS homebrew over 32 megabytes, so there is no software that the 3 in 1 cannot run because of it's size.
     
  6. Soybomb
    OP

    Newcomer Soybomb Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Thanks guys, I think I'll get it then. The added spack of the m3lite would be nice as well as not having to fool with patching games and using the utility but I don't think its worth the extra price to me!
     
  7. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    You need to patch stuff on the M3 Lite too. Probably the ONLY advantage is storage (and a semi-glossy cover >_>)
     
  8. Seyiji

    Member Seyiji Rawr :3

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    Oh ho ho but that is where you are wrong [​IMG]

    According to G-Online at least the following games are 256Mb...
    Bleach Advance
    Kingdom Hearts - Chain of Memories
    Riviera The Promised Land

    Also the homebrewn port of the Saturn game El Hazard is also 256Mb
     
  9. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not wrong. 256 megabits (Mb) = 32 megabytes (MB).
     
  10. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    A bit is one eigth of byte to clear things up. You could also get the EZF4 Lite Deluxe(mine should be coming tommrow). It uses micro sd cards, you can use ram for opera and use GBA homebrew. Its also very cheap compared to an M3
     
  11. Seyiji

    Member Seyiji Rawr :3

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    Oh snap owned by my lack of reading skill [​IMG]

    I thought you meant that there were no games equal to 32MB and they were all 16MB and under!

    I stand corrected [​IMG]
     
  12. nycwii

    Newcomer nycwii Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    dude i have this set, the combination of shard memorymakes things so much easier, its worth it.
     

Share This Page