EZ4 Lite (TF): DS Saves + my mini review

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by DjFIL, Jun 25, 2006.

Jun 25, 2006
  1. DjFIL
    OP

    Member DjFIL GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I just (4 days ago now) got my EZ-Flash IV TF (SD Micro) + SuperKey (old version) from winsunx.com (arrived 1 day late!... stupid ups.) It works great. I had no issues with needing to file\trim down anything, but saying that I do have to unscrew the cover everytime to remove the Micro SD (man these things are amazingly small). The patcher works great (they fixed the other passme issue and tony hawk now works 100%) and is very easy to use (for me in a Guest PC XP virtual desktop in OS X), and I can bring the files (saver and patched rom) to my OS X desktop and do the transfering back and forth there instead of in my Virtual Desktop of Windows XP (which is great). I'm so glad I got this... best pickup ever, and it's just the start for awesome ds titles to come (can't wait for zelda).

    One thing I noticed is for the save to work, after you shut down the system, you must reboot to the loader main screen for it to write the save to the micro sd (i guess it keeps it temperarly in the onboard memory, or eeprom). I've forgotten once, i'd say after 10-15 minutes with power off the save info (if not written to sd micro) is lost. Also, sleep mode works perfectly, and I haven't tried any homebrew yet.

    Glad I got that first batch. Thanks winsunx.
     
  2. Darkspark

    Member Darkspark GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    323
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I have the same card.

    I noticed this for saves, but it does not love the save after power off on mine.

    When ever I turn on the DS, I get the save message for whatever game I played last. Even if i played it 12 hours ago. Only if I restart the DS LIte twice, do no save messages appear.

    Does anyone know how to get to ez4 loader screen within a game without restarting the DS?
     
  3. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,423
    Featured Posts:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2 things leave your EZ4 in a powered GBA/DS for a couple of hours if you are losing your saves. If you have a linker even better and use that instead.

    As for homebrew save the stuff build around SATA's fat library will not work (picodrive is about the only thing I care about/can not find an replacement for that does this).

    Oh and thanks for testing/making the MAC workaround I am sure a few people will appreciate this one.
     
  4. zone97

    Member zone97 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    466
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Time zone
    Country:
    United States

    This is also how the M3 works, when you finish a game, and upon the next "boot" it will save the previous games save. if you do not load a new rom, and turn off and back on you do not see this message. Seems to be the normal practice for this type of device for DS.
     
  5. DjFIL
    OP

    Member DjFIL GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok... is it the on board battery (cause there is something that looks like a battery, i think). recharged by the connection to a powered up DS? That'd make sense, I'll try that and hopefuly it won't be as lost easily. And that's good to know it's normal for most flash carts.

    And DarkSpark, they don't have an option to do that... yet. EZF Team said it is something on their agenda for a future kernel update.
     
  6. bennyx8903

    Newcomer bennyx8903 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Canada
    O_O i was just reading and im really confused, im about to get a EZ4 lite, but to save you hav to reboot?! wtf, that suks
     
  7. CrazyPeon

    Newcomer CrazyPeon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    I think when you save it saves it into a temporary storage which is kept alive by the cart's battery. The next time you reboot it transfers that saved data into a permanent storage.
     
  8. TheVirus

    Member TheVirus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    404
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Uganda
    By reboot you mean power off the DS and power it back on? I haven't received my EZ4 yet so I don't know what this means. What's the exact process for saving data?

    If you are playing Brain Age or Mario Kart and you finish playing, it will save your data to a temporary place on the EZ4, so you need to do what after you finish playing?
     
  9. ole jason

    Member ole jason GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    That's correct. You "save" in-game as you would if you had the real game. Then, the next time you power on the DS it will write the save to the card. It's not something you have to do immediately. I've left mine off for 12 hours or more and it will still write the save when I go back and turn it on.
     
  10. yuwing

    Member yuwing GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Canada
    how about some pictures with the review!
     
  11. westboy

    westboy Newbie

    I have the supercard minisd but i never need to reboot to save ds games... the need to reboot to save sucks!

    i wish supercard can come out with a microsd version that fit flush with the ds lite....
     
  12. DjFIL
    OP

    Member DjFIL GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    you want it, you got it... 8 photos of my ds lite and the ez4 lite tf and superkey... as well as the screen (on reboot) that shows you it's writing the .sav data.

    oooh, the box
    [​IMG]

    everything it comes with: 3 cases, the pcb, usb extender and usb sd reader
    [​IMG]

    my superkey (v1), microSD 1gb (damn it's small), pcb and the white case in 2 pieces
    [​IMG]

    edge view
    [​IMG]

    as you can see, unmodded it really only sticks out 1mm at most
    [​IMG]

    the ds loader
    [​IMG]

    after you reboot it gives you 2 screens, the first (giving an option to cancel the .sav write)
    [​IMG]

    and the second (2 second after the first) telling you which file it is writing to
    [​IMG]

    also an update... i've been able to leave the ds powered off for nearly a day, and it has been able to retain the save data in tact so it can write the .sav file upon next reboot. so basically, after you finish playing your game (no matter if the game "auto saves" or you chose to save with in the game) when you boot off the system the save data is saved via the onboard sram... then on your next time booting in to the ds loader it will show those two last screens (seen above) which will then write the data from the sram to the .sav file (created by the EZ4 Patcher) on your SDMicro. I haven't found any major issues yet, and none of the titles that i've wanted to try have given any issues in patching or playing stages.

    EDIT: took me a while to get the images working... site i have it posted on is picky with case-sensitivity
     
  13. jerky666

    Newcomer jerky666 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    BTW Ez Flash 3 works the same way with the saves.

    It saves to an internal memory, which is being kept alive by the battery.

    after restarting the DS, it writes this part of memory to a place in memory on the cart
    (this is why if you fill an ez3 up too much, saves will corrupt, no place to write them).

    This just seems to be the way in which ez-team has implemented saves.

    There should be no issue with it working this way.

    --JErky666

    PS- Glad to see that the EZ-teams new product is up to snuff.

    It will be a tough choice with which cart to go with once i start my new job [​IMG]
     
  14. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    As long as the battery charge is retained so the SRAM stays charged, you should never lose your save. That can be quite a while [​IMG]
     
  15. zone97

    Member zone97 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    466
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Time zone
    Country:
    United States
    About how long is the delay at startup when it is writing the saves?
     
  16. ZildjianKX

    Member ZildjianKX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Probably about 2-3 seconds, it has to give you enough time to cancel the save in case you don't want to keep it (and want to keep your older save).

    Also I think the review mentions they fixed the issues with other passme devices, if you're referring to nopass devices, they didn't.

    Also for OS X users, you're probably going to get .DS_STORE files on your memory cards, kind of annoying that you will have to erase those manually.
     
  17. DjFIL
    OP

    Member DjFIL GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    i haven't had the .ds_store file appear on my memory card yet, maybe cause i never formated it in os x? and yeah... the wait for it to save the load durring boot is no more then 3 seconds, tops.
     

Share This Page

Loading...