EZ4 (Lite) and Homebrew

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by SpaceJump, Jun 17, 2006.

Jun 17, 2006

EZ4 (Lite) and Homebrew by SpaceJump at 6:01 PM (2,292 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm considering buying an EZ4Lite and wonder, how well homebrew stuff works on EZ4.

    Here's what I want to use:
    - SNES DS and SnezziDS
    - Picodrive
    - DS2Key
    - Rein

    So you EZ4 owners, wanna share some information? [​IMG]
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,740
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    EZ4 should be the same as the EZ4lite.

    SNESDS works

    SnezziDS kind of worked (it booted but the game did not run) but I will have to confirm that.

    Picrodrive, sadly not yet. Hopefully if Sata includes the EZ4 access stuff in the next version then maybe (it was released to Moonshell's author).

    DS2Key should work.

    Rein will likely not work as I seem to recall it actually writes to the card which once again due to the lack of EZ4 access routines during the last build it will likely not work. EtoolSMS does the same thing works great though http://nds.cmamod.com/download.html

    Oh and remember to either add a GBA header to your rom or rename it with a .bin or a .gba extension as .ds/.nds ones crash it.
     
  3. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks for your answer [​IMG]

    What does that last sentence mean?
    Example SNES DS: I have the .ds.gba file. Normally I would have to rename it to .nds on M3 or Supercard. But not for EZ4?
     
  4. ZildjianKX

    Member ZildjianKX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Country:
    United States
    I think he means some homebrew come in ds.gba versions, meaning they are prepatched with the header to work on GBA flash cards.
     
  5. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,740
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah if you have a .ds.gbs file you can just copy it across to your memory card. Use explorer rather than EZ4 Client though.

    A lot of homebrew gets a .ds.gba version so you should only have to use that version.

    DSBuild I think it was called can be used (you will have to search for it I am afraid) or you can use a copy /b command with the GBA header file from the flashme offical pages.
     
  6. ebcubs03

    Member ebcubs03 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, so ETool does work?
     
  7. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    What about ScummVM for DS, does it work on EZ4?

    Btw, where can I get the latest firmware and software for EZ4? Where is the best place to get more information on the EZ4?
     
  8. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,740
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Another question: I took a look at the EZ-Client and noticed there's no need to make decisions like normal-boot or fast-boot. How come? Are all games transferred as fast-boot (direct SD access) and will they run without slowdowns? On M3 and SC you would have slowdowns in NSMB, Metroid Pinball and Princess Peach when played in fast-boot.

    Thanks for your answers [​IMG]
     
  10. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,740
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is all done directly from the memory card (GBA code excepted).

    You will see slowdown in the Castlevania intro (I normally drop it anyhow as it saves enough space for another game) and the megaman intro/movies but no other slowdowns have been reported. I have not played metroid pinball or Princess peach yet but I can assure you NSMB is flawless.
     
  11. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    And what about homebrew DS stuff?
     
  12. ebcubs03

    Member ebcubs03 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    United States
    Does Animal Crossing Wild World's intro menu have slowdown on EZ4? It does on my supercard.. might just be my SD though. And also, I heard Tony Hawk's American Sk8land isn't playable, but if it is, does it have slowdown? I have massive slowdown for it on my Supercard.

    Thanks
     
  13. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,740
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Homebrew varies. Moonshell streams content, some copies to the PSRAM/NOR.

    @ebcubs03 I have not tried ACWW out yet for any more than a boot test (after I finally got to work on my EZ2 (size issues) I found it the most boring game in recent times).
    Tony Hawks boots but crashes when the spraycan comes on the menu. I hear that disabling the sound (ndstool or menu wise) makes for a nice speedboost on some carts though.
     
  14. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    SnezziDS 0.22 is out, which is supposed to work now on M3 and Supercard (here). Could someone test if it works now on EZ4, too?
     
  15. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,740
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    SnezziDS 0.22 and Castlevania - Vampire's Kiss Euro version tested. Works with major graphics issues (wrong layer priority).
    Latest loader on my EZ4.
     
  16. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Is it correct that Flashcard-based homebrew doesn't save on EZ4? I read that SNES DS works on EZ4, but you can't save your game to SRAM. Is that correct?
     

Share This Page