Hacking EZ-V 3-in-1 GBA saving system

Corridor

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
I'm having a lot of trouble understanding how this thing saves my GBA games. I just got the Slot-2 device the other day, and I've been playing Superstar Saga and the Castlevanias. But the saving is... weird. I've tried to research it but I'm not technical, and every FAQ or guide I've found uses a lot of terminology that just goes over my head.

Here's what's going on as I see it:
When I run GBA Exploader (v0.58), it says "Write SRAM to save file" and gives me a list of 5 slots. I think it's making a virtual image of the cart/rom or something? None of them ever have anything in them except the first one, occasionally. If it's there it's just listed as a date and time so I don't know what it actually is, I assume it's the game I last played. I generally just pick the first empty slot, unless I'm playing that same game from last time.

When I enter the program and choose a game to play, it says "Load SRAM from SAV file". Sometimes there is a file there, sometimes there is not. Often there will be nothing there even if I'm certain I saved that particular game. Sometimes there'll be a save file, but it will be from much earlier in the game than I actually last saved it. Sometimes there will be a file, but when I go check the actual folder on the SDcard in Windows there's nothing related to that game.

The last one just happened to me with Harmony of Dissonance. I played for ages, saved, turned it off, then loaded the SDcard in windows and there wasn't a HoD file to be seen. I got kinda pissed, thinking it hadn't saved, but when I tried loading the game again in Exploader it was right there, and progress was saved at the same place I left it.